Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Want radar for a c70. Should I just upgrade?

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Want radar for a c70. Should I just upgrade?

Old 07-22-2013, 05:03 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Bay Minette, Al.
Posts: 83
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Want radar for a c70. Should I just upgrade?

I have a raymarine c70. Been talking to a few dealers and they say it's radar is no longer available. Should I just upgrade to new unit? The c70 I have is perfectly functional. Something about being non hd is where the problem lies.
Old 07-22-2013, 07:02 PM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Great South Bay, LI NY
Posts: 88
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

It's either upgrading or shopping around for a used 2kw or 4kw radome. I ran into the same situation, my C80 was obsolete two years after buying it. I saw no reason at the time to upgrade just to add radar. Found a used 4kw radome here on THT for my C80 last year. There are always those who are upgrading their electronics and selling them.
Old 07-23-2013, 05:57 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Bay Minette, Al.
Posts: 83
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Did not think about buying used. Used saltwater environment stuff is touch and go. Guess for the right price it may be worth giving it a try.
Old 07-23-2013, 09:10 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 3,511
Received 199 Likes on 139 Posts
Default

I have a nice 4Kw dome I just took off my boat. It was working with my C120. I think they are worth between $800 and $900 dollars.

I also have the C120, DSM, Sirius radio and a Raystar 120 available.

Let me know if you're interested.
Old 07-23-2013, 10:40 AM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Great South Bay, LI NY
Posts: 88
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by fpchief View Post
Did not think about buying used. Used saltwater environment stuff is touch and go. Guess for the right price it may be worth giving it a try.
It's just a matter of inspecting the radome thoroughly for any signs of damage or any signs of water inside the unit. If neither is found you should be good to go. It would also be a good idea to test it, check the hours and see if the cable is still intact and not cut in any way.


Originally Posted by HDRyder999 View Post
I have a nice 4Kw dome I just took off my boat. It was working with my C120. I think they are worth between $800 and $900 dollars.

I also have the C120, DSM, Sirius radio and a Raystar 120 available.

Let me know if you're interested.
One for sale right here.
Old 07-23-2013, 06:24 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,922
Received 672 Likes on 355 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by HDRyder999 View Post
I have a nice 4Kw dome I just took off my boat. It was working with my C120. I think they are worth between $800 and $900 dollars.

I also have the C120, DSM, Sirius radio and a Raystar 120 available.

Let me know if you're interested.
Couple questions, is the radar cable included, on the unit does it say Raymarine or Raytheon.
Raymarine will no longer support anything with the Raytheon name on it.
Old 07-23-2013, 06:27 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 278
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I too just ripped out my 2KW radome. Had to open it to disconnect the cable and it was brand new looking like the day I bought it. I had used it less than an hour even though it is a few years old.
Old 07-24-2013, 05:04 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 3,511
Received 199 Likes on 139 Posts
Default

My radar says Raymarine. I used it with my C120. For $900 you can have the cable, too.
Old 07-24-2013, 10:50 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Bay Minette, Al.
Posts: 83
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hdryder999, can't pm you for some reason. Please email me at fpchief@bellsouth.net

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.