Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Garmin Bluechart Mobile Wireless Connection

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin Bluechart Mobile Wireless Connection

Old 07-21-2013, 05:44 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Noank, CT
Posts: 733
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Garmin Bluechart Mobile Wireless Connection

I have purchased Garmin Bluechart Mobile and have it installed on my Ipad. I also already have a Verizon cellular based Wi-Fi network installed on my boat. I want to be able to wirelessly upload routes, waypoints, etc. from Bluechart Mobile to my 5212.

Question.... is there "anything" special about the Garmin Wi-Fi adapter kit...... or can I simply connect my existing Verizon cellular Wi-Fi system to the chartplotter via a Cat 5 cable?

http://static.garmincdn.com/pumac/Wi...uctions_EN.pdf

Thanks!
Old 07-23-2013, 06:47 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Freeport, Grand Bahama
Posts: 1,382
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

No you will need to buy the Garmin WiFi adapter kit as the software has been changed on M2HP antenna. Also you will need a 12V DC adapter for the POE adapter.
Old 07-24-2013, 04:53 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,082
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

You can use other routers - and be connected to internet at the same time. It is not documented by Garmin - but by someone who "hacked" his way through setting it up. https://sites.google.com/a/patmcquee...marine/success

So it can be done. Simrad/Lowrance publishes how to use other routers. Garmin & Raymarine does not - but I guess they will very soon.
Old 07-24-2013, 05:17 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,720
Received 489 Likes on 323 Posts
Default

Here's a good article from Ben at Panbo ......

http://www.panbo.com/archives/2013/0...rt_quatix.html
Old 07-24-2013, 08:18 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Noank, CT
Posts: 733
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by kaz911 View Post
You can use other routers - and be connected to internet at the same time. It is not documented by Garmin - but by someone who "hacked" his way through setting it up. https://sites.google.com/a/patmcquee...marine/success

So it can be done. Simrad/Lowrance publishes how to use other routers. Garmin & Raymarine does not - but I guess they will very soon.
I see what was done and it is interesting..... however, they still had to utilize the Picostation Wi-Fi to talk to the chartplotter.

Thanks for the link....VERY informative....

What I was trying to do was use ONLY my existing cellular Wi-Fi and plug it directly into the chartplotter.... a 5212 in my case.

Originally Posted by bluewaterpirate View Post
Here's a good article from Ben at Panbo ......

http://www.panbo.com/archives/2013/0...rt_quatix.html
BWP.... looks like there will lots of developments in the wireless technologies for marine applications very soon.. thanks!

Everyone-

Here is the "official" response from Garmin.........

Thank you for contacting Garmin International. I'll be glad to help here. The Wi-Fi kit available through Garmin is already configured to the proprietary Garmin Marine Network. Without the proper configuration, the Garmin Network would overwhelm and lock up any other device not designed to work with it. Therefore, this is the only Wi-Fi kit that will work properly. Unfortunately, plugging your existing system in with Ethernet cables will not work.
Old 07-24-2013, 08:08 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 264
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Garmin is trying to keep it simple and sell a solution vs. explaining what the parts do. I have proven that there is nothing special about Garmin's WiFi router and you can make your own. However it does take some work and networking knowledge. For most folks I would just use the Garmin kit. However if you have a WiFi network on the boat and are willing to get into the technology it is realatively easy to configure the Garmin network with your network!
Old 07-25-2013, 05:45 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Noank, CT
Posts: 733
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by patmcqueen View Post
Garmin is trying to keep it simple and sell a solution vs. explaining what the parts do. I have proven that there is nothing special about Garmin's WiFi router and you can make your own. However it does take some work and networking knowledge. For most folks I would just use the Garmin kit. However if you have a WiFi network on the boat and are willing to get into the technology it is realatively easy to configure the Garmin network with your network!
Pat-

I saw your write-up and it looks great! I've already purchased the Garmin Wi-Fi adapter.

I am looking for a 12 VDC input (12-24 VDC output) POE for the Garmin unit though. I do have a generator, but don't run it all the time and would simply prefer to power the unit off the boats DC bus.

Frankly I'm even sure I need the Garmin Wi-Fi once I'm underway since I have an Ipad 4 with built-in GPS.

Thanks!
Old 07-25-2013, 06:25 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Beaufort NC
Posts: 6,609
Received 3,278 Likes on 1,504 Posts
Default

Here's the one we use on the Ubiquiti supplied with the Garmin kit, works just fine.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Passive-POE-...item2573196853
Attached Images  
Old 07-25-2013, 03:04 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Freeport, Grand Bahama
Posts: 1,382
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I found that the POE on Ebay has to have the output voltage increased to 24V. The problem with the unit is that if you put 12V in you get 12V out. I found a POE made by Tycon that you can hook up to 12V and it will put out 24V.
Old 07-26-2013, 03:56 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Beaufort NC
Posts: 6,609
Received 3,278 Likes on 1,504 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by NOLIMIT40 View Post
I found that the POE on Ebay has to have the output voltage increased to 24V. The problem with the unit is that if you put 12V in you get 12V out. I found a POE made by Tycon that you can hook up to 12V and it will put out 24V.
Why would you want to increase the voltage to 24V? That is the max the Ubiquiti can take per a Ubiquiti tech rep. It will operate just fine at 12.0 VDC and I have installed that exact POE on a 12V house battery bank and the system has been working now for six months with no reported issues. Just make sure the cable you use to connect has the pins populated that carry the voltage to the tranciever, many of the Garmin interconnect cables do not have the voltage carrying pins connected on the ends..
Old 07-26-2013, 06:35 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Freeport, Grand Bahama
Posts: 1,382
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thanks for the update. I did not know the unit would work on 12V. The power supply that comes in the box puts out 24V DC. That is what mis led me.
Old 07-26-2013, 07:03 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Beaufort NC
Posts: 6,609
Received 3,278 Likes on 1,504 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by NOLIMIT40 View Post
Thanks for the update. I did not know the unit would work on 12V. The power supply that comes in the box puts out 24V DC. That is what mis led me.
Not positive on the low spec but I believe it was something like 10VDC and the max was 24VDC so it's quite a wide range. The tech did say to be careful and not exceed 24.0VDC so a boat with a 24V house system shouldn't hook it up direct as charging voltage will be more like 26-27V.

Garmin may be including a DC to DC POE like the one I linked to in the future. Their original thinking was only larger boats with AC power would be using the wireless but they've had so many inquiries now from people without gensets they're reconsidering.
Old 07-26-2013, 07:34 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 264
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

The Pico Station I purchased came with a 24v POE adapter ... But the data sheet says 15v.

http://dl.ubnt.com/datasheets/picost...icom2hp_DS.pdf

I ended up searching the Ubiquity forum and they convinced me that running of the ship's 12v. was fine.

http://community.ubnt.com/t5/Install...on/td-p/225927

So far so good ...
Old 07-28-2013, 07:38 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Noank, CT
Posts: 733
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bills106 View Post
Here's the one we use on the Ubiquiti supplied with the Garmin kit, works just fine.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Passive-POE-...item2573196853

Bill-

Thanks! I just ordered one....
Old 07-28-2013, 07:56 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,082
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by patmcqueen View Post
The Pico Station I purchased came with a 24v POE adapter ... But the data sheet says 15v.

http://dl.ubnt.com/datasheets/picost...icom2hp_DS.pdf

I ended up searching the Ubiquity forum and they convinced me that running of the ship's 12v. was fine.

http://community.ubnt.com/t5/Install...on/td-p/225927

So far so good ...
The problem with Pico's is when you go below 12v. They are not too happy about that. I have quite a few pico, nano's and other UBNT gear. And they do start doing funny things when you go below 12v. So for my solar stuff I use MikroTik that works down to 8 volt. I also put MikroTik on the boat as the primary router.
Old 08-08-2013, 01:27 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Noank, CT
Posts: 733
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

I ordered the Garmin Wi-Fi adapter and the DC powered POE recommended by Bills106. Got everything installed and it works like a charm. One thing to remember is that the POE does NOT come with the DC power input connector/cable. I happened to have one that fit from an old AC/DC power supply. If you don't have one of those, then you will need to get the DC connector from Radio Shack or similar and make up your own DC power supply cable/connector assembly.

Plotted about 6-7 routes and it took less than a minute for my IPAD to sync with my 5212. Will be doing a long trip in a couple weeks with several legs and days of traveling. I'll give another update then.

Thanks to everyone for their help!
Old 08-08-2013, 02:33 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Freeport, Grand Bahama
Posts: 1,382
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I have the Garmin wifi kit installed on my boat also, and I agree with you that it works like a charm.
Old 08-08-2013, 10:02 PM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,978
Likes: 0
Received 337 Likes on 282 Posts
Default

I installed one of these this week. stupid it comes with an AC adapter.

I downloaded the free garmin marine iphone app. I can connect to the 7015. the 7015 sees the iphone in the marine network list. I get the optons to use external gps (seems to work) export and import on the iphone app. but when I try to import or export it just hangs and says "waiting for chart plotter" nothing shows up on the chart plotter. I read an acknowledgement should come up on the screen? 7015 has newest software. I am missing something?

is synching way points the only thing this app and wifi system does? it doesn't share charts, depth, ais targets ect on my iphone / ipad map? the raymaine and simrad apps do. it seems I'd still need to buy charts from garmin despite having them in the plotter.
Old 08-09-2013, 05:36 AM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Noank, CT
Posts: 733
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
I installed one of these this week. stupid it comes with an AC adapter.

I downloaded the free garmin marine iphone app. I can connect to the 7015. the 7015 sees the iphone in the marine network list. I get the optons to use external gps (seems to work) export and import on the iphone app. but when I try to import or export it just hangs and says "waiting for chart plotter" nothing shows up on the chart plotter. I read an acknowledgement should come up on the screen? 7015 has newest software. I am missing something?

is synching way points the only thing this app and wifi system does? it doesn't share charts, depth, ais targets ect on my iphone / ipad map? the raymaine and simrad apps do. it seems I'd still need to buy charts from garmin despite having them in the plotter.
Did you perform a software update on your 7015 prior to integrating your Garmin Wi-Fi?

My Garmin Wi-Fi kit came with a SD card with the latest software update and the instructions say to perform an update before hooking up the Wi-Fi.

When I sync-ed my IPAD and chartplotter, I did get an acknowledgement box on the chartplotter.

I also get XM weather interface. I have a stand alone radar, but I've read that it does not share radar data.
Old 04-30-2014, 10:20 AM
  #20  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ct
Posts: 1,485
Received 534 Likes on 289 Posts
Default

Has anyone found any other things that the Garmin WiFi can do ? I've got it on order so I can upload routes from the iPad to the 8202. I'm planning on going with a Fusion 700 later on this season.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.