Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Nse12 gs25

Old 07-16-2013, 05:49 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dauphin Island,AL
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nse12 gs25

I just replaced my GS15 with a GS25 to have radar overlay. I have not done the calibration of the GS25 yet. My question is...I turned on the NSE and it will not get GPS lock. It sees the GS25 but will not give location. Does the calibration have to be completed before it will get GPS lock?

Thanks
Old 07-16-2013, 08:25 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

No, calibration is for the heading sensor. Did you change the GPS source to the GS25?
Old 07-16-2013, 08:35 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dauphin Island,AL
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I am pretty sure I did but to be honest,it was so hot that I was ready to get out of the boat as the cover was still on the boat. I will verify it tomorrow.

Thanks
Old 07-17-2013, 05:37 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Pplpilot View Post
I am pretty sure I did but to be honest,it was so hot that I was ready to get out of the boat as the cover was still on the boat. I will verify it tomorrow.

Thanks
Your boat cover isn't a faraday cage by chance is it?
Old 07-17-2013, 08:14 AM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dauphin Island,AL
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

That would be a pretty good theft deturent not to mention cool. It would've the coolest light show on the water.
Old 07-17-2013, 03:45 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Saint Francisville, LA
Posts: 1,880
Received 40 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

first time on it could take a goodly while to lock on sats.
Old 07-17-2013, 04:21 PM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dauphin Island,AL
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Fixed it. It wasn't checked as the source. Thanks for your help stiletto.
Radar overlay works fine, now I have to go do some circles to calibrate
Old 07-17-2013, 05:22 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Port Richey, FL
Posts: 4,455
Received 776 Likes on 413 Posts
Default

I had the same issue as well until I chose it as the source. LOVE the GS25 - fast, accurate, and when I'm sitting still seeing which way my boat icon is pointing is nice.

Never did like the old donut of death on my old Humminbird.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.