Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

running two garmin 741xs and transducers???

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

running two garmin 741xs and transducers???

Old 07-14-2013, 08:20 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default running two garmin 741xs and transducers???

Looking to buy a new boat (25' CC) and have some questions regarding the new Garmin 741xs. I plan on running two side by side with the GMR 24 HD and interfaced to a fusion head unit. If I understand correctly the two units will have to be connected via the NMEA 2000 and cannot be directly networked to share sonar, radar, etc. My question is regarding whether I should install a single B175M or both the B175L and B175H or some other combination thereof. Most of my fishing is done in less than 500' however I do fish out to 1200' or so at time. Is the second transducer worth the extra cost and am I looking at the correct and best transducers for my application? If you have any suggestions or would do anything differently please let me know trying to get all the details ironed out before I make the next step.

Thanks, Brad
Old 07-14-2013, 08:32 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,895
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

If you fish in 500' and them sometimes down to 1200' a single B175M would a positive choice.
A good compromise between High and Low for your depths.
I suggest only 1 transducer.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 07-15-2013 at 07:05 AM.
Old 07-15-2013, 06:26 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 9,746
Received 695 Likes on 391 Posts
Default

Just to make sure you understand (I run two 740s units) - the bottom contour readout will only show up on the unit you have a transducer plugged into. The second unit will show the depth in feet but that's it. (which is fine for most cases)

The display right in front of me is usually set to chartplotter and the display to my right is set to sounder, so I get all the information I need. The nice thing is that the second display acts as a backup chartplotter gps etc and if I were to lose that one I could always plug the transducer into the main display.
Old 07-15-2013, 12:11 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for the replies exactly what I needed to know and your help is greatly appreciated. I was considering the second transducer so I could have the contour readout on both screens at different frequencies but now I'm thinking its not worth the cost. Looks like Im going with the B175M. First decision I will have made that would actually save money on the build. Thanks Again!
Old 07-15-2013, 12:58 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Miami/Key Largo
Posts: 418
Received 32 Likes on 29 Posts
Default

I use the same combination 740S for Radar/Sonar with a B164 20 degrees tilt and a Garmin 18 HD radome and 5208 for chartplotter, you don't need a second transducer, what you may need one day is a backup chartploter and the combination gives you that opportunity if one of them fails.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.