Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Replacing the electronics on my Intrepid

Notices

Replacing the electronics on my Intrepid

Reply

Old 06-19-2013, 01:43 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuart, Florida
Posts: 132
Default Replacing the electronics on my Intrepid

The boat is a 2006 Intrepid 32 CC with originally installed Raymarine E120 and 4kw radar spanner. The sounder is also original Raymarine, but I don't have the model # - it's an in-hull sounder in an oil box (so no thermistor). Although I don't find the E120 very user friendly, the components all work fine. Switching to a Garmin system. I'm staying with an in-hull ducer, but do plan to install a hull-thru temp sensor.


I use the boat mostly offshore Florida fishing in depths of roughly 50-100 ft near shore for snapper and yellowtail, and in the Bahamas for YFT and other pelagics in waters ranging in the area of 400 to 1000 ft and deeper. Also deep drop around 400 -900 ft for yelloweye.
I use the radar for night and weather related navigation, but it's also key for finding birds when fishing the pelagics.

Here's the package I'm looking at:

Garmin 7212 12" plotter
Garmin 604xHD Radar 6k w/ 4 ft spanner
Garmin GSD26 Chirp 300-3000 kw
Airmar B264C-LH transducer
Airmar NMEA 2000 HP Temp Sensor - bronze

I'd welcome comments and suggestions on this plan.

Many thanks,
Redline911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 02:27 PM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 59
Default

Originally Posted by Redline911 View Post
The boat is a 2006 Intrepid 32 CC with originally installed Raymarine E120 and 4kw radar spanner. The sounder is also original Raymarine, but I don't have the model # - it's an in-hull sounder in an oil box (so no thermistor). Although I don't find the E120 very user friendly, the components all work fine. Switching to a Garmin system. I'm staying with an in-hull ducer, but do plan to install a hull-thru temp sensor.


I use the boat mostly offshore Florida fishing in depths of roughly 50-100 ft near shore for snapper and yellowtail, and in the Bahamas for YFT and other pelagics in waters ranging in the area of 400 to 1000 ft and deeper. Also deep drop around 400 -900 ft for yelloweye.
I use the radar for night and weather related navigation, but it's also key for finding birds when fishing the pelagics.

Here's the package I'm looking at:

Garmin 7212 12" plotter
Garmin 604xHD Radar 6k w/ 4 ft spanner
Garmin GSD26 Chirp 300-3000 kw
Airmar B264C-LH transducer
Airmar NMEA 2000 HP Temp Sensor - bronze

I'd welcome comments and suggestions on this plan.

Many thanks,
You should most likely stick with a transducer in the box. Since the Intrepid has a stepped hull it is difficult to locate a through hull type and have it work at cruising speeds. I have both through hull and a Airmar R199 in a box in front of the step. The R199 is the only one that works at speed.
Capt. Jon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 05:24 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuart, Florida
Posts: 132
Default

Any advice? I'm out of date on this stuff. Look like I'm on the right track? Abbor? Semperfishing? Stiletto?

Thanks Capt Jon. I am staying with the transducer in the box, just updating it with a CHIRP Garmin. The box is about 2 ft ahead of the step, so it seems to be OK. I keep the boat on a lift, and because it has a step, the lift has four pods instead of bunkers. Glad to hear that at least one of the Airmar's works in the box at cruise. What kind of depth and speed can you get readings?

Last edited by Redline911; 06-19-2013 at 06:43 PM.
Redline911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 06:42 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,277
Default

I agree on using the m265 instead of the b265. Do you have an autopilot? You'll definitely want a heading sensor.
yachtjim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 06:47 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuart, Florida
Posts: 132
Default

Originally Posted by yachtjim View Post
I agree on using the m265 instead of the b265. Do you have an autopilot? You'll definitely want a heading sensor.
Yacht Jim,

Yes, I have the original 2006 Simrad. It works fine, it's apparently compatible with the new Garmin, so I'm planning to keep it.

Thanks! Dan
Redline911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:21 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,277
Default

It is compatible and will output heading data to the garmin system. The airmar sensor does not include a T connector, so get an extra.
yachtjim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:36 PM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 59
Default

Originally Posted by Redline911 View Post
Any advice? I'm out of date on this stuff. Look like I'm on the right track? Abbor? Semperfishing? Stiletto?

Thanks Capt Jon. I am staying with the transducer in the box, just updating it with a CHIRP Garmin. The box is about 2 ft ahead of the step, so it seems to be OK. I keep the boat on a lift, and because it has a step, the lift has four pods instead of bunkers. Glad to hear that at least one of the Airmar's works in the box at cruise. What kind of depth and speed can you get readings?
No problems with a DSM300 at 25kt's and 750' in the northern gulf. I have a second DSM on B256 and use it for temp and really deeper stuff. However it's amazing how well the box works in deep water.
Capt. Jon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:24 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuart, Florida
Posts: 132
Default

Originally Posted by yachtjim View Post
I agree on using the m265 instead of the b265. Do you have an autopilot? You'll definitely want a heading sensor.
Yacht Jim,

Yes, I have the original 2006 Simrad. It works fine, it's compatible with the new Garmin, so I'm planning to keep it.

Thanks! Dan
Redline911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:33 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuart, Florida
Posts: 132
Default

Originally Posted by Capt. Jon View Post
No problems with a DSM300 at 25kt's and 750' in the northern gulf. I have a second DSM on B256 and use it for temp and really deeper stuff. However it's amazing how well the box works in deep water.
Glad to hear that. I'll be doing more deep dropping when it gets slow on top.

thanks again, Dan
Redline911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:35 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuart, Florida
Posts: 132
Default

Originally Posted by yachtjim View Post
It is compatible and will output heading data to the garmin system. The airmar sensor does not include a T connector, so get an extra.
Yacht Jim,

Thanks! I'll check on that to make sure we have the extra T connector. '

Dan
Redline911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 05:24 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

I am no radar expert, but from what I have read the 6kw is the minimum for finding birds. Keep that in mind with your bird finding expectations. I haven't had my M265 in 1000' yet, but so far so good with it in up to 600'. You have a good package of electronics, you are going to really enjoy it.
stiletto is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 05:00 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stuart, Florida
Posts: 132
Default

Originally Posted by stiletto View Post
I am no radar expert, but from what I have read the 6kw is the minimum for finding birds. Keep that in mind with your bird finding expectations. I haven't had my M265 in 1000' yet, but so far so good with it in up to 600'. You have a good package of electronics, you are going to really enjoy it.
Thanks for the feedback Stiletto, I'm set to go with it.
Redline911 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: