Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Multiple GPS/Sounder Units

Old 06-18-2013, 12:30 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 205
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Multiple GPS/Sounder Units

Can anyone tell me if you can mount two (2) transducers on the stern if the two units are exactly the same and exact same HZ without one interfering with the other??
Old 06-18-2013, 12:34 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,700
Likes: 0
Received 696 Likes on 553 Posts
Default

It depends on how good the interference filtering in the sonar model is?

Which model do you plan to mount?
Old 06-19-2013, 11:24 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 205
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Lowrance Elite 5 Base
Old 06-19-2013, 11:30 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,700
Likes: 0
Received 696 Likes on 553 Posts
Default

You will have to operate one unit at 83kHz and the other at 200kHz to avoid interference.
Old 06-19-2013, 11:32 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,066
Likes: 0
Received 286 Likes on 176 Posts
Default

I run a Garmin 547 CHIRP with a Airmar TM150m and a Simrad NSS8 with an Airmar TM260 concurrently no interference issues. The frequencies used by the units are different so there for no interference. Garim usees 40 - 210 kHz Simrad 50/200 kHz. Like Arbbor stated one on 50 one on 200.
Old 06-19-2013, 11:36 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,563
Likes: 0
Received 1,476 Likes on 742 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bluewaterpirate View Post
I run a Garmin 547 CHIRP with a Airmar TM150m and a Simrad NSS8 with an Airmar TM260 concurrently no interference issues. The frequencies used by the units are different so there for no interference.
Tom,
That is because you are so good at what you do your units would not dare interfere..
Old 06-19-2013, 11:39 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,066
Likes: 0
Received 286 Likes on 176 Posts
Default

Ya know us retired squids can do anything.
Old 06-19-2013, 12:31 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
It depends on how good the interference filtering in the sonar model is?

Which model do you plan to mount?
How would a sonar have interference filtering? It is a simple single frequency pulse. Anything you could filter would be the signal you are looking for, unless each manufacturer has a slightly different frequency they operate with very narrow bandwidth filters?
Old 06-20-2013, 01:27 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,700
Likes: 0
Received 696 Likes on 553 Posts
Default

The pinging from a transducer close by shows up as a vertical short lines on the screen. I would assume this should be fairly simple to remove.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.