Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

VHF Screw Stripped out

Old 06-13-2013, 07:13 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 356
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default VHF Screw Stripped out

Guys - trying to help a buddy out here... Below is the problem. The bolt that secures the bracket to the actual VHF housing has stripped out. From what I can see, the threaded insert behind the hosuing is spinning which will not allow the screw to be removed. Any ideas on how to remove it?
Attached Images  
Old 06-13-2013, 08:09 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,452
Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Try using crazy glue, cyanoacrylate. Carefully get it to flow into the seam between the insert and the radio's case and not onto the threaded bolt itself. With any luck you'll stop the insert from spinning.
Old 06-13-2013, 08:59 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 356
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Team Ruby View Post
Try using crazy glue, cyanoacrylate. Carefully get it to flow into the seam between the insert and the radio's case and not onto the threaded bolt itself. With any luck you'll stop the insert from spinning.
I will try that!!!!
Old 06-13-2013, 10:09 AM
  #4  
BSL
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 930
Received 191 Likes on 111 Posts
Default

Riv-nut installed from the inside?

Bert
Old 06-13-2013, 11:11 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,458
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

epoxy on existing fastener, from inside if the case can be opened...gasket and waterproofness may be compromised...gasket may be old and brittle and unobtainable.
Old 06-13-2013, 12:16 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Garett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 24,391
Likes: 0
Received 1,095 Likes on 611 Posts
Default

The lag that is showing in your pic above, is that the part that is stripped? Does that lag/ bolt spin inside that bracket it is apart of? I take it the lag should not spin?
The bracket the lag is apart of, what is the bracket attached to? I looks like it is spot welded to something else???

If the lag is stripped I'd cut it off. If the lag spins inside the bracket then I'd hold it with vise grips while I cut it off with a die grinder w/ a cut off blade on it.

I would either of two things: drill out the welds holding that plate/ bracket on* or I would make an new plate with a lag bolt and screw it to the exsiting bracket.

* After removing the bracket with the stripped lag bolt, I'd punch in out, install a new bolt and tack weld it into place, then screw the bracket back into place after it is cleaned up and painted.
Old 06-13-2013, 12:47 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 7,961
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Just how old IS that VHF? Is it worth the effort to try to fix it, or is it time to upgrade? Just asking.
Old 06-13-2013, 04:57 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 356
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by t3rockhall View Post
Just how old IS that VHF? Is it worth the effort to try to fix it, or is it time to upgrade? Just asking.
Really, its less than a year old - Standard Horison Intrepid
Old 06-14-2013, 10:35 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 7,961
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I downloaded the manual and now see the issue. On the back of the radio, there are 4 screws at the corners. Unscrewing these screws should allow you to pull the radio forward, out of its case, although it might get stuck at the screw. the gasket between the radio and the face is probably an o-ring.

Less than a year old, might be covered under warranty. Contact S-H. They are good people.
Old 06-14-2013, 06:28 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 671
Received 44 Likes on 31 Posts
Default

Wow. A lot of rust for 1 year old. Try and stop the water intrusion.

Good luck
Old 06-14-2013, 07:58 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,458
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

I agree...why so much rust on a unit that is only a year old? I expected this was a pre-DSC VHF from decades ago and not worth fixing...why so much corrosion on such a new unit? If less than a year old, as you state, isn't it still under warranty?

I think it needs to be re-installed in an area with less salt-splash....but try to get SH to repair it if it's still under warranty, which it should be if less than a year old. Opening the unit yourself will likely void the warranty.

Something here just doesn't add up....

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.