Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 740s vs. echoMap 70s

Old 05-17-2013, 10:10 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,522
Received 163 Likes on 104 Posts
Default Garmin 740s vs. echoMap 70s

I have been looking at and seriously considering the Garmin 740s for about a month now and then within the last week or so I've seen the echoMap 70s pop up along with other echoMap models.

My main question is what s the difference if any with the echoMap's? Are these just the new generation of Garmin's with some styling and name changes or are there real differences to them.


Thanks.
Old 05-17-2013, 10:13 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Multitouch interface, 10hz GPS, and I think Wifi. The only drawback to the 70s is it looks like it doesn't support some mapping feature with the vision chip.
Old 05-22-2013, 03:43 PM
  #3  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Deltaville, VA
Posts: 61
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I just got off the line with their marine support and had the same question.. here is what I got..and i am glad i called..

Here are my notes..

echomaps are dual beam (77/200) units only (This contradicts what the specs page says).. designed primarily for fresh water and NOT compatible with the coastal vision mapping... and also do NOT have NMEA 2000 or Radar ports.

This is also misleading as the new Echomaps and GPSMaps share the same manuals

so, in short, it's a glorified echo fishfinder with mapping.

3 ports, "Future Use" (per rep) sonar plug and power

Old 06-03-2013, 04:28 PM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Deltaville, VA
Posts: 61
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Something to add.. my buddy just got his hands on a echomap 50s.. he tried to use his existing 6pin transducer with a wire block adapter to convert to 8 pin.. once he pluged it in he got an error "transducer nto supported" I called into Garmin for him and here is what I got "Since the echomap is dual beam 77/200 it will not support dual frequency 50/200 khz at all)

I guess in older units even if it were duam beam only you could still connect a dual frequency but only able to use the 200khz side.
Old 08-22-2013, 03:00 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,079
Received 108 Likes on 80 Posts
Default

I have the echomap 50 and its fantastic. Its preloaded with inland lakes but I bought the chip that does the great lakes and both coasts and it works with the new chip. Only downside with the chip is when the chip is in you cant see the inland lakes so if you are on a inland lake you have to pull the chip out.

Had the garmin 430 in the past and this is far superior.

For a fish finder I use a Furuno FCV620 with a airmar b60 transducer and for fun I put the crappy little transducer that came with the garmin on my swim latter and it was almost as good as my furuno. It wouldn't surprise me with a equally good transducer it would be better than the Furuno. Kind of made because the furuno is only 1 year old. Where I noticed a difference was marking the fish on the bottom in 100fow.
Old 12-05-2013, 05:59 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,317
Likes: 0
Received 1,596 Likes on 842 Posts
Default

The 70s is simplicity itself to use...all you need is to look at the screen..and follow the menu bar.








Old 11-20-2014, 08:29 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 397
Likes: 0
Received 94 Likes on 63 Posts
Default I learned the exact opposite

Originally Posted by sajen View Post
I just got off the line with their marine support and had the same question.. here is what I got..and i am glad i called..

Here are my notes..

echomaps are dual beam (77/200) units only (This contradicts what the specs page says).. designed primarily for""" fresh""" water and NOT compatible with the coastal vision mapping...

I was gonna buy the echomaps 70s yesterday at WestMarine. After deciding on that one over the Lowrance. The salesman and I decided to use the maps exactly where I fish and it had ONLY the coastal mapping and would not show any usefull map farther than 1 mile inshore. It was the "Coastal" version. The salesman called Garmin rep and asked specifically of an inshore or lakes/rivers or freshwater model and the freshwater model was found but it still did not have useful mapping in the brakish marsh area of Pascagoula and Gautier Mississipi ( which is a major fishing area) ... the rep agreed he would work on the issue cuz the Lowrance had the detailed mapping for the same area. So....in the end they do indeed have a coastal version cause I laid my hands on it and demonstrated the saltwater gulf mapping. Frustrationly disappointed to the above quote was that the fresh water inshore model didnt have my area mapped in it and its a major fishing river marsh system. So I left the store without one.
Old 11-20-2014, 10:03 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Apollo Beach
Posts: 953
Received 83 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

What is the cost difference b/t the two (740s vs. Echomap)? The reason I ask is when I was on the hunt for an additional 740s and watched a couple ebay auctions most units in good or new type shape were selling well over $900. I think that is crazy since you can get a brand new 741xs for a couple hundred dollars more which is a superior unit. Fwiw... I really like my 740s which is why I added a second on my boat when I found one that was reasonably priced.

B
Old 11-20-2014, 10:14 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,317
Likes: 0
Received 1,596 Likes on 842 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bergertime View Post
What is the cost difference b/t the two (740s vs. Echomap)? The reason I ask is when I was on the hunt for an additional 740s and watched a couple ebay auctions most units in good or new type shape were selling well over $900. I think that is crazy since you can get a brand new 741xs for a couple hundred dollars more which is a superior unit. Fwiw... I really like my 740s which is why I added a second on my boat when I found one that was reasonably priced.

B
Here are the current Garmin units with a major price drop:

http://www.thehulltruth.com/semperfi...rice-drop.html
Old 11-21-2014, 05:58 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 3,463
Likes: 0
Received 445 Likes on 275 Posts
Default

What's the price on the 70s ?
Old 12-16-2014, 08:33 PM
  #11  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 56
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Your bluecharts

Originally Posted by HighTechRedneck View Post
I have the echomap 50 and its fantastic. Its preloaded with inland lakes but I bought the chip that does the great lakes and both coasts and it works with the new chip. Only downside with the chip is when the chip is in you cant see the inland lakes so if you are on a inland lake you have to pull the chip out.

Had the garmin 430 in the past and this is far superior.

For a fish finder I use a Furuno FCV620 with a airmar b60 transducer and for fun I put the crappy little transducer that came with the garmin on my swim latter and it was almost as good as my furuno. It wouldn't surprise me with a equally good transducer it would be better than the Furuno. Kind of made because the furuno is only 1 year old. Where I noticed a difference was marking the fish on the bottom in 100fow.

Did you buy bluechart g2 or g2 vision? Why would garmin ship with inferior transducer? What is cost if you buy one for the 50s?
Old 12-30-2014, 03:49 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Punta Gorda, Fl
Posts: 283
Received 49 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

I am replacing an older garmin unit that has the P66 Airmar ducer will this work with the 70s and if so what is the cut-out for the installation? Thx
Old 12-30-2014, 04:18 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,317
Likes: 0
Received 1,596 Likes on 842 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dcabot View Post
I am replacing an older garmin unit that has the P66 Airmar ducer will this work with the 70s and if so what is the cut-out for the installation? Thx
The P66 you now have will probably have the 6 pin connector..you need to use an adapter to go to a 8 pin for the 70s.

Flush mount template:
http://static.garmincdn.com/pumac/GP...series_FMT.pdf
Old 12-30-2014, 06:01 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lower Bay in VA.
Posts: 6,019
Received 289 Likes on 162 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by sajen View Post
I just got off the line with their marine support and had the same question.. here is what I got..and i am glad i called..

Here are my notes..

echomaps are dual beam (77/200) units only (This contradicts what the specs page says).. designed primarily for fresh water and NOT compatible with the coastal vision mapping... and also do NOT have NMEA 2000 or Radar ports.

This is also misleading as the new Echomaps and GPSMaps share the same manuals

so, in short, it's a glorified echo fishfinder with mapping.

3 ports, "Future Use" (per rep) sonar plug and power
]
Not sure what they told you But my 70s Has coastal charts installed and The G2 Vision Card/chip works great on it .

Maybe you where talking about a unit with the lake charts ?? .

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.