Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Just purchased a Furuno FCV-627 fish finder, any suggestions on the best set up

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Just purchased a Furuno FCV-627 fish finder, any suggestions on the best set up

Old 04-30-2013, 01:55 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 240
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just purchased a Furuno FCV-627 fish finder, any suggestions on the best set up

I will be using it mostly in salt or brackish water in depths usually less than 100 ft. Would love to hear from anyone who has experience with this unit. Your help would help me with my learning curve. Best set up, etc.

Thanks in advance.
Old 04-30-2013, 02:26 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,747
Likes: 0
Received 1,507 Likes on 769 Posts
Default

In your menue.

SOUNDER
1) PICTURE ADVANCE ......set to 4/1


2) A SCOPE .....set to Normal


DISPLAY


1) DEPTH SIZE.. ....set to small
2) PALETTE.......set to BLUE



3) ACCU FISH.....go into fish Info and select "Depth"..PG 11 of the manual.
This will allow the FCV627 to print the depth right on your target if the fish is in the 200 kHz cone....which means the fish is basically under the boat.
But if there are no depth numbers printed on the target..that means the fish is in the 50 kHz cone only..and not under the boat.

DATA




1) Go to DATA BOX 1..enter and then select Temp form the drop down menue.





TRANSDUCER..if you want the ACCU FISH and BOTTOM DISC to be functional select your transducer from the menue...if you are using the P66 then select 525STID-PWD

Last edited by semperfifishing; 06-12-2013 at 04:35 AM.
Old 04-30-2013, 03:28 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 240
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Wow, Semperfi thank you very much!

A question though, with A-scope set to normal what should your display be set at? LF, DUAL OR HF? If set to dual, do you see both 50 and 200 screens? I would prefer not seeing the split screen but will appreciate your expertise.
Old 04-30-2013, 04:21 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,747
Likes: 0
Received 1,507 Likes on 769 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 4wheeler View Post
Wow, Semperfi thank you very much!

A question though, with A-scope set to normal what should your display be set at? LF, DUAL OR HF? If set to dual, do you see both 50 and 200 screens? I would prefer not seeing the split screen but will appreciate your expertise.

Set the display to HF...when you have the "Depth" in Fish Info you will be firing alternate 50 & 2100 Khz pulses regardless of what screen mode you are in.

So...If you set up the Fish Info with "Depth" selected. you do not need to split the screen...as the 627 is a smaller screen..no need to divide it.
Make sure your transducer is one of these ..and select the one you have in the ducer menue.:

________FCV627__________

520-5PS.........................Plastic Thru-Hull Transducer, 600W (10-Pin)
520-5MSD........................Bronze Thru-Hull Transducer, 600W (10-Pin)
525-5PWD........................Plastic Transom Mount Transducer, 600W (10-Pin)
525STID-MSD (B744V)............Bronze Thru-Hull Multi-sensor with High-Speed Fairing Block, 600W (10-Pin)
525STID-PWD (P66 w/ Speed & Temp).......Plastic Transom Mount Multi-sensor, 600W (10 Pin) ID
525T-PWD (P66 Depth & Temp).........Plastic Transom Mount Transducer with Temp, 600W (10-Pin)
SS60-SLTD (SS60 ).........50/200KHZ Stainless Steel Low Profile with Temp, Tilted Element (10- Pin)
525-LTD (B60)..........Bronze Thru-Hull Transducer with Temp, 600W (10-Pin), Tilted Element
525-BSD (B45)...........Bronze Thru-Hull Transducer with Temp, 600W (10-Pin) Plastic Thru-Hull, Low Profile, Transducer, 600W (10-Pin)
520-PLD (P319)........Plastic Thru-Hull, Low Profile, Transducer, 600W (10-Pin)

Link to transducer for Bottom disc and Accu FISH:
http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...imination.html

The Furuno (FCV585,FCV620,FCV587 & FCV627) will still be sending out alternate 50 and 200 kHz pulses .
On the screen if you see a target with depth numbers on it..that fish is in the 200 kHz cone..or basically under or very near the boat.
But..
If you do not have depth numbers..then that fish is outside the 200 kHz cone but still in the 50 kHz cone..so it is beyond the boat.

So basically you are seeing the results of both the 50 and 200kHz on a single screen...and that information will help you put yourself over the fish..

Last edited by semperfifishing; 04-30-2013 at 05:03 PM.
Old 04-30-2013, 06:03 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 240
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Semperfi, again, thank you very much!
Old 04-30-2013, 06:24 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 92
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 4wheeler View Post
Semperfi, again, thank you very much!

Just for the record, Semperfi took my phone call this past Sunday morning and walked me through the setup of my furuno 627 just like he posted here. Who else answers the phone on a Sunday morning? And I didn't even purchase my unit from him.
Old 06-13-2013, 10:32 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Old Lyme, CT
Posts: 458
Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

does this work for the FCV620 also?
Old 06-13-2013, 10:59 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Magnolia, MA.
Posts: 537
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Semperfifishing simply ROCKS! He owns these boards, as well as he should with his input.
Old 06-13-2013, 11:09 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,747
Likes: 0
Received 1,507 Likes on 769 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Chris From Saybrook View Post
does this work for the FCV620 also?
On the FCV620 or FCV585 the setup is almost the same.

To get the depth on the target you do this:

In MENUE..go to DISPLAY...go down to FISH INFO..then open it up and select DEPTH.
This feature work down to 300' depths.

To set up the data boxes..the same.
Old 06-13-2013, 11:37 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 92
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I sold my 627 after 3 months after it drove me nuts with all the settings. The p66 is no match for the 627 so you'll have to spend another 400.00 on a quality ducer. I took a chance on a a Garmin 500c for 250.00 and couldn't be happier.
Old 06-29-2013, 01:35 PM
  #11  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 75
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Gil,

You sold me the 587 with 1kw transducer pair so would I follow these same instructions and just ignore the ACCUFISH stuff. You said to turn A Scope on, but in your later pictures it isn't??? That "Depth" in Fish Info is only for ACCU Fish, right?

Thanks,

Dave
Old 06-29-2013, 02:09 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,747
Likes: 0
Received 1,507 Likes on 769 Posts
Default

Dave ..the depth feature should work on all FCV620,FCV627.FCV585,FCV587 units.
And yes,it is in Fish Info.

With your FCV587 you select 526TID-HDD for transducer in your menue for your setup...then go to AccuFish and then Fish info..and select Depth.

And you can use the A scope anytime you want... like it .. but also like a cleaner screen at times also.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 07-03-2013 at 05:26 PM.
Old 06-30-2013, 07:13 PM
  #13  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: RI
Posts: 36
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Semper...do you have a setup recommendation for saltwater in 100-200ft of water with a B60 thru-hull transducer on a Furuno 587 to mark striped bass? thanks
Old 06-30-2013, 07:54 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,747
Likes: 0
Received 1,507 Likes on 769 Posts
Default

Just use the "Depth" feature mentioned above ...nothing special for that depth.
If you don't use the "depth" feature then use dual screen.
Old 07-03-2013, 01:28 PM
  #15  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Semperfi i was looking at this thread as my friend has a furuno 620 in the Picture advance is that setting 4/1
Old 07-03-2013, 03:40 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,747
Likes: 0
Received 1,507 Likes on 769 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by wallabyman View Post
Semperfi i was looking at this thread as my friend has a furuno 620 in the Picture advance is that setting 4/1
Yes..but the photo was taken on my cell phone...not very good quality.
Old 07-03-2013, 07:32 PM
  #17  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

cheers i will let him know awesome reading this site and your information is tops.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.