Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Would you run 2 Garmin 741XS? or a cheaper second screen?

Notices

Would you run 2 Garmin 741XS? or a cheaper second screen?

Old 03-06-2013, 07:05 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ft Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 540
Default Would you run 2 Garmin 741XS? or a cheaper second screen?

I'm thinking about doing a panel with twin 7" displays. If I got two 741XS garmins and plug the sonar in one side- I should be able to map with one, display sonar or other nab parameters on the second display, right? Or should I get the matching GPS plotter only (minus the sonar) and save a hundred bucks? If I get the better G2 vision card and put in one, will it show on the other? I'm confused. Wish I could just buy one unit and an extra screen, like having two monitors on a computer. Much cheaper than buying two computers....

Or get a 740s and 740 for nearly half the cost? The resolution is the same.
zimmer is offline  
Old 03-06-2013, 08:18 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,216
Default

Another option, from what I have heard the Garmin 741xs is a single band CHIRP. You could run 2 single band CHIRP transducers with different bands, depending on what frequency bands the 741xs supports.
stiletto is offline  
Old 03-06-2013, 08:41 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7,461
Default

What are you trying to accomplish with your proposed electronics?
Whaler27 is offline  
Old 03-06-2013, 08:48 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ft Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 540
Default

Great touch screen mapping.
Sounder on the side for depth and bottom contour- not yet into fishing, but plan to in the future
zimmer is offline  
Old 03-06-2013, 10:19 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7,461
Default

There is probably at least a $1000 difference between between the 741 and 740 when you use the 741 to its full capability (CHIRP sounding). If you are not yet into fishing, I think the 740 is probably the way to go.

But two 741 or two 740 series (only one s model needed) will do what you are wanting to do.

To the best of my knowledge, when NMEA 2000 networked, the G2 Vision enhancements will not show on the other display, but to the extent that you used the auto routing function to set a route to navigate to, that route would display on the other display.

I am not sure that the 741s are actually being sold yet.
Whaler27 is offline  
Old 03-06-2013, 10:26 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 9,087
Default

I have a pair of 740s set up like this. I do charts on one and sounder on the other.

The units will not "network" like their bigger brothers will but they will share data over NMEA 2000. For instance, unit A will display depth even though unit B has the transducer on it.

There is no particular reason to do two sonar capable units.

I think this is a great setup, the screen size is still a little small though. I'll probably hold off on upgrading to the 741s, as I was really hoping for a slightly larger screen unit with the same capabilities.
Flot is online now  
Old 03-06-2013, 11:52 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ft Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 540
Default

Another option I was thinking about is a 740S (right now the S model is the same price and non sounder version) and flush mounting my old garmin 498 which is currently hooked up and works with a transducer. They won't "match" and I'm sure the sounder technology is better on the newer garmin, but it would save me $1000..... and leave the whole 740 for navigation.
zimmer is offline  
Old 03-06-2013, 03:44 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7,461
Default

I had a 498 and the 498 screen is too small to run both the chart and FF at the same time. So by adding a 740 you would be able to run each dedicated to a function. You can always add a 740s later (assuming they are still made).
Whaler27 is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 08:48 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,418
Default

Originally Posted by zimmer View Post
I'm thinking about doing a panel with twin 7" displays.
There was really no need to start another thread to discuss essentially the same issues that were already on the table in http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...s-sounder.html. All this does is make it that much more difficult to hold a coherent dialogue.



Itteldoo is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 01:39 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Homer, AK
Posts: 110
Default

Originally Posted by Itteldoo View Post
There was really no need to start another thread to discuss essentially the same issues that were already on the table in http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...s-sounder.html. All this does is make it that much more difficult to hold a coherent dialogue.


Hmmm. This dialog certainly was working for me. I'd sure love to hear it continue. You said that this was "essentially" covered in the other thread, but "essentially" and "entirely" are two different things. I'd certainly be more interested in hearing it hashed out entirely. If it takes two threads, who cares? It's not taking up any more room on MY computer.
cohodave is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 02:19 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ft Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 540
Default

I agree, more talk! I keep looking at the widescreen 12" models- I'm in love with the raymarine E127 right now- hybrid touch/buttons like the NSS but it has the sounder and GPS antenna built in as well as wifi. Supposed to be able to put in a route in my ipad, then sent it wifi to the plotter- if that works as advertised, I'm in heaven. Too bad it's $3000.....
zimmer is offline  
Old 03-07-2013, 03:40 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chesapeake VA
Posts: 7,527
Default

Originally Posted by zimmer View Post
I agree, more talk! I keep looking at the widescreen 12" models- I'm in love with the raymarine E127 right now- hybrid touch/buttons like the NSS but it has the sounder and GPS antenna built in as well as wifi. Supposed to be able to put in a route in my ipad, then sent it wifi to the plotter- if that works as advertised, I'm in heaven. Too bad it's $3000.....
There is a good deal on the raymarine web site on the C140 at $1000 each. Thats for the 14 inch screen. Its not the hybrid-touch but a steal in my view. I have the E140W and its about the same unit. I could do without the touch screen at that price. I have had the garmin 740s and it is an excellent unit. Cant go wrong with either. If you go with the Rm, youll need the dsm300. Be sure to get a high quality transducer. Like watching HD tv versus analog.
nitro943 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread