Notices

Stero Setup

Old 03-05-2013, 01:10 AM
  #1  
Senior Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Adirondacks, NY/Palm Beach
Posts: 5,401
Default Stero Setup

I'm installing a new stereo system. There are 5 speakers in the cockpit including a sub and 2 speakers in the cabin. How do I power this. The head unit is 21RMS into 4 channels which is pretty anaemic. Can I buy a 5 channel amp to power the cockpit speakers and use 2 chanel's off the powered head unit to power the cabin speakers? Or should I buy another 2 channel amp for the cabin?
ThreeLittleFish is offline  
Old 03-05-2013, 02:46 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 527
Default

Either way will work fine. If you don't care about the cabin speakers being very loud, then just run them off the headunit and run the other speakers off the 5ch amplifier. Otherwise a 6ch for all the mids and highs and another amp for the subwoofer. If you need any further help I am in West Palm, send me a PM and I can assist
Evan
WIDEOPEN23 is offline  
Old 03-05-2013, 11:54 PM
  #3  
Senior Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Adirondacks, NY/Palm Beach
Posts: 5,401
Default

I bought a 5 channel ALPINE amp with one 300w channel dedicated to the subwoofer. I'll run the cabin speakers off of the head unit. Thanks for your help!
ThreeLittleFish is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread