Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

what is the difference between Structure Scan LSS1 & LSS2

Notices

what is the difference between Structure Scan LSS1 & LSS2

Old 03-03-2013, 04:53 AM
  #1  
THT Sponsor Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brightwaters, New York
Posts: 376
Default what is the difference between Structure Scan LSS1 & LSS2

I looked at some old post and maybe I missed the answer. I know here on THT the subject has been covered but I was not able to get the answer.
Besides the size of the transducer is there a difference between a Lowrance Structure Scan LSS1 and a LSS2?
Further more is there a difference between the built in Structure Scan in a HDS 12 Touch and a LSS1 unit with separate modular?
After reading the many post on this subject I have decided to go with HDS12 Touch and a LSS1 transducer using a adapter cable to get the best performance from my Touch Structure Scan; Thoughts
TY
ray50 is offline  
Old 03-03-2013, 05:21 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Euless,TX
Posts: 294
Default

i truly hope you get an answer to this i am in the same boat.
rexp is offline  
Old 03-03-2013, 05:58 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wilmington nc
Posts: 175
Default

I found this
http://www.tidalfish.com/forums/show...ure-Scan-Sonar
Happyjax is offline  
Old 03-03-2013, 06:38 AM
  #4  
THT Sponsor Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brightwaters, New York
Posts: 376
Default

Originally Posted by Happyjax View Post
Happyjax Thanks for the thread but I think this goes a lot deeper. I looked all over for a LSS1 Transducer and finally found one in at a electronic dealer who actually discounted it because it was discontinued.I would say to anyone who is in the same position to look for the LSS1 ducer in the end I think they are the better fit for the application.
ray50 is offline  
Old 03-03-2013, 08:46 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 13,935
Default

Except for the transducers which are giving different inline angle of the signal cone, the differences between LSS-1 and LSS-2 electronics boxes are small. LSS-2 inline angle at 455kHz is comparable with LSS-1 at 800kHz.

LSS-1 and LS-2 are designed to interface transducers with different impedance, this is the reason why an adapter is needed when using LSS-1 transducer with the LSS-2 box or HDS Touch. LSS-2 transducer can be used with LSS-1 box without problems. The signal processing is also slightly different between the two boxes.
abbor is offline  
Old 03-03-2013, 03:20 PM
  #6  
THT Sponsor Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brightwaters, New York
Posts: 376
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
Except for the transducers which are giving different inline angle of the signal cone, the differences between LSS-1 and LSS-2 electronics boxes are small. LSS-2 inline angle at 455kHz is comparable with LSS-1 at 800kHz.

LSS-1 and LS-2 are designed to interface transducers with different impedance, this is the reason why an adapter is needed when using LSS-1 transducer with the LSS-2 box or HDS Touch. LSS-2 transducer can be used with LSS-1 box without problems. The signal processing is also slightly different between the two boxes.
Abbor TY
question
After reading many post on this subject rather than using a LSS2 I have decided to go with a LSS1 transducer using a adapter cable to get the best performance from my HDS12 Touch, Structure Scan; Thoughts
ray50 is offline  
Old 03-03-2013, 03:29 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 13,935
Default

In case you manage to get hold of a LSS-1 transducer go for it, due to LSS-2 length the engine can shadow parts of the signal of of one the sides of the SideScan in many installations. This can normally be mitigated by trimming the engine out. The adapter is needed, without the adapter the range will be severely limited.
abbor is offline  
Old 03-04-2013, 08:51 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,467
Default

Sounds like you guys already have your transducers but if not I have a new and unused LSS1 transducer and bracket sitting in my garage that I'm not going to use. Anybody need one PM me and make an offer Thanks
greenno is offline  
Old 09-05-2015, 03:10 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 19
Default

Is your LSS-1 transducer still available? If so what is the cost?
Thanks,
Fill
PiranhaPR is offline  
Old 02-02-2016, 08:42 PM
  #10  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 36
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
In case you manage to get hold of a LSS-1 transducer go for it, due to LSS-2 length the engine can shadow parts of the signal of of one the sides of the SideScan in many installations. This can normally be mitigated by trimming the engine out. The adapter is needed, without the adapter the range will be severely limited.
I just had a look at my transducer and its a LSS1 with no adapter, even though it came in a Lowrance Structure scan HD box, and the whats more there is no transducer adapter available in Australia.

How much of an impact does the transducer adapter have on the performance and life expectancy of the transducer. Given that I have been running it on a HD structure scan module?
odysy is offline  
Old 02-03-2016, 08:44 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 13,935
Default

The transducer adapter is improving the performance for the SideScan slightly, if you are happy with what you see no reason to worry.
abbor is offline  
Old 02-03-2016, 09:54 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Westville, KZN, South Africa
Posts: 564
Default

http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...pressions.html
Fishton is offline  
Old 02-04-2016, 01:25 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brielle NJ
Posts: 50
Default LSS1 Line Drawing, help

If anyone has a dimensional drawing of a Early Lss1 (Short 7.5") through hull transducer I could sure use it. I am installing a new LSS2 hd transducer and would like to check the through hull and aligning stud spacing for the Lss1 it has only one aligning stud. I know the Lss2 is 10" with 2 aligning studs. If no drawing the center line size of the Lss1 will work.

I hace been all over the net, call Airmar, Simrad and Lowrance and they were of know help. Airmar tell me it is a proprietary design made for navco and can not be release.

Billh
billh22 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread