Notices

Garmin WiFi Adapter Install

Old 02-28-2013, 12:18 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Freeport, Grand Bahama
Posts: 1,382
Default Garmin WiFi Adapter Install

I finally received my Garmin WiFi adapter and I am getting ready to install it on my 40Ft. center console. I need to know what to get to power the adapter from 12V. as it comes with a 110V. power adapter.
NOLIMIT40 is offline  
Old 02-28-2013, 01:22 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,437
Default

How about trying a power inverter?
Team Ruby is offline  
Old 02-28-2013, 02:00 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,484
Default

Say what? 110V? What are they thinking?

I have 110v power, but many boats won't. I guess they don't expect it to be used while underway?
gerg is offline  
Old 02-28-2013, 03:57 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7,462
Default

Assuming what you have looks like this

http://www.panbo.com/archives/2012/1...ands-on_2.html

the black box POE needs 12–15 Vdc and 0.8 A according to Garmin.
Whaler27 is offline  
Old 02-28-2013, 04:18 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Freeport, Grand Bahama
Posts: 1,382
Default

The black box (POE injector) that came in my kit has a regular 110V. plug in cord to supply the power.
NOLIMIT40 is offline  
Old 02-28-2013, 04:48 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7,462
Default

No transformer that takes the 110 AC to 12 DC that plugs into box?
Whaler27 is offline  
Old 02-28-2013, 04:58 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,437
Default

I think NOLIMIT has this one, it only has an A/C cord hardwired right to it.

https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?cID=162&pID=124640
Team Ruby is offline  
Old 02-28-2013, 04:58 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Freeport, Grand Bahama
Posts: 1,382
Default

The black box has a 110V AC cord that plugs into it, and it says it puts out 24V DC at 0.5A on the network cord RJ45 jack that goes to the antenna.
NOLIMIT40 is offline  
Old 02-28-2013, 05:02 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Freeport, Grand Bahama
Posts: 1,382
Default

My box has a 110V plug in cord and a RJ45 port that says LAN and another RJ45 port that says POE.
NOLIMIT40 is offline  
Old 03-01-2013, 05:11 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Beaufort NC
Posts: 4,741
Default

For some reason Panbo got a passive POE injector with his WiFi kit instead of the AC powered version they supply currently. It makes more sense to supply the DC version to me as many smaller boats won't have AC power available.

Ubiquiti, who makes the WiFi unit says it's power requirements are 12-24VDC, 0.8 amps at 12 and 0.5 at 24. The simplest (and cheaper) method I've found to convert to DC power is to use a passive POE injector with it's input fused appropriately for whichever voltage you are using. I connect it to the same breaker used for the NEMA 2000 network. It's also important to make sure the + voltage is only injected to the transmitter on pins 4 and 5. Some units I found inject +V on other pins as well and that will fry the transmitter. Found one on fleabay for $4.50;
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Passive-POE-...item2573196853
Attached Images  

Last edited by bills106; 03-01-2013 at 06:18 AM.
bills106 is offline  
Old 03-01-2013, 06:26 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Freeport, Grand Bahama
Posts: 1,382
Default

Thanks Bills106, that looks like it should do the trick. Maybe someone from Garmin will see this and get their act together.
NOLIMIT40 is offline  
Old 03-01-2013, 06:45 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Beaufort NC
Posts: 4,741
Default

They know about it, I had a long discussion with one of their app engineers who has the ability to make changes on the very subject yesterday. He agreed wholeheartedly. The Ubiquiti unit comes with the AC/DC converter in the box but including the DC/DC injector is a small but worthwhile addition to the kit. With their buying power it should be a minor change.
bills106 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread