Notices

Furuno 1934c Powers off and on Issue..

Old 02-28-2013, 11:15 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Myers, Fl
Posts: 1,652
Default Furuno 1934c Powers off and on Issue..

So this past offshore trip, my furuno began to just surge. It will be running fine, then suddenly it will just shut off for no reason, then immediately power back up. On occasion when i go to power on the radar it will shut off also (motors are running when operating radar).

Has any one else had such issues? Could this be an overheating problem, electrical, or is it the unit its self?

Any feedback would be great!

Thanks!
veikx is offline  
Old 02-28-2013, 12:23 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,418
Default

Originally Posted by veikx View Post
So this past offshore trip, my furuno began to just surge. It will be running fine, then suddenly it will just shut off for no reason, then immediately power back up. On occasion when i go to power on the radar it will shut off also (motors are running when operating radar).

Has any one else had such issues? Could this be an overheating problem, electrical, or is it the unit its self?
http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...-net-help.html



Itteldoo is offline  
Old 02-28-2013, 01:22 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern Maryland and Hatteras
Posts: 558
Default

Go through Itteldoo's link... great info for troubleshooting...

I've got a pair of Furuno's as well... If the voltage drops too low, they would shut off and after shutting down, the voltage goes back up and they would turn themselves back on! I would experience this after long periods of time drifting or when raising the anchor... after replacing my main power line to the dash with a much larger gauge wire (both + and -) and moving the windlass to it's own feed, problem resolved!

p.s. I also replaced my house batteries this season as they were 5 plus years old and weren't holding a full charge for very long...

Good Luck!
Predator Sport Fishing is offline  
Old 02-28-2013, 01:26 PM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 74
Default

I had same problem. It was the video cable shorting out. Large grey wire
ORIENT STAR IV is offline  
Old 02-28-2013, 03:31 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Myers, Fl
Posts: 1,652
Default

Thank you for the replies. I'll be probably looking at it this weekend, possibly moving to a bigger gauge wire indeed, as I also installed a new 7212 and both units are power hogs. My batteries are about a year old, and i always charge them up after each trip.
veikx is offline  
Old 09-08-2015, 04:21 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 5
Default 1934c power off issue

What would be a likely cause if the power supply to the unit is ok?

Mine will transmit for approximately 3/4 revolution, then trip the display unit off.

8 years in use, about 900hrs "on" and 195 hrs transmit.

could this be a mechanical problem in the array?

Thanks for any help.
geodave is offline  
Old 09-08-2015, 07:04 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Jamaica Bay, NY
Posts: 826
Default

What is your house battery voltage? Is it charging?
Srf_Cast is offline  
Old 09-09-2015, 11:55 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Myers, Fl
Posts: 1,652
Default

I had replaced my power cable and cleaned up the connections on my + and - bars. Had zero issues after that. No longer have the unit as it was on the contender when it was stolen.
veikx is offline  
Old 09-10-2015, 02:10 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Merritt Island ,Fl
Posts: 625
Default

like veikx said
similar thing happened to my 1944c
hoejef is offline  
Old 09-22-2015, 11:20 AM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 5
Default

my problem turned out to be the array drive motor/gearbox. easy fix and great troubleshooting help from max marine electronics. fair price for a used motor as well. I like this unit and glad I'll put some more hours on it. Thanks Max.
geodave is offline  
Old 09-23-2015, 03:19 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: South Australia
Posts: 2,055
Default

Originally Posted by geodave View Post
What would be a likely cause if the power supply to the unit is ok?

Mine will transmit for approximately 3/4 revolution, then trip the display unit off.

8 years in use, about 900hrs "on" and 195 hrs transmit.

could this be a mechanical problem in the array?

Thanks for any help.
The motor will rotate antenna to find its ship heading marker to align with display after which it energises the magnetron. I am guessing it draws a heavy current at that point which is causing a voltage drop to your display below that, which it operates so it turns off.
It may start up again as the voltage has recovered due to it stopping. This is known as motorboating.
You may have high resistance joint in the wiring, fuse holder or switch etc or the scanner is drawing excessive current due to seizing rotary joint loading the motor. I also notice the radar has done 705 hours in standby. Being in 'standby' still keeps the magnetron warmed by it's heater.
isitstuffed is offline  
Old 09-23-2015, 09:45 AM
  #12  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 5
Default

"It may start up again as the voltage has recovered due to it stopping. This is known as motorboating"


I guess I should get a sailboat.

For the benefit of others,my unit would warm up, transmit and display the return, the array would rotate approximately 3/4 to 1.5 revolutions then trip off the display. This kinda points to a mechanical or continuity problem causing the under volt or the current overload condition. It could be a few other things.
Simple trouble shooting involves checking voltage both with the unit on and off, good? check signal cable for short, good? then check magnetron (radar transceiver) by disconnecting signal cable from the transceiver,good? disconnect signal cable from the array drive motor. mine was bad, if your is good then possibly a power supply problem in your RDP display unit.

The inside of your clam shell should look as new, any signs of moisture intrusion and your transceiver is most likely fried. fwiw drive motor/gearbox sold as a unit new for $525, the transceiver I did not price new but a tested used one from a reputable business was about $700 making me believe a new one is around 2X that amount.

The most common cause for this type failure is low input voltage and the usual culprit there is the inline fuse or just faulty house dc wiring .

These units enjoy a great reputation and do not necessarily need to be upgraded like most other fragile marine electronics which are abused by the installation on motorboats

Frankly it is amazing (to me) any of this stuff works for any length of time in a marine tropical environment.
cheers
Dave
mv "Steptide"
KY3PG/MM

Last edited by geodave; 09-23-2015 at 09:48 AM. Reason: spellin'
geodave is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread