Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Simrad NSO Blackbox with Monitor at Defender

Notices

Simrad NSO Blackbox with Monitor at Defender

Old 02-26-2013, 10:26 AM
  #1  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location:
Posts: 9
Default Simrad NSO Blackbox with Monitor at Defender

Simrad NSO blackbox with a 17" monitor for $3515? That's cheaper than the processor alone. Typo maybe? I'm tempted to buy one just in case I ever get a boat big enough to put it on. Will it fit on a bass boat?
leejeffreyl is offline  
Old 02-26-2013, 11:25 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 967
Default

I got an incredible deal on a NSE12 and a 6kW radar from Defender about two years ago so it may not be a typo. I bought the NSE12 and just about got the radar for free ($4k savings)
ninetoes is offline  
Old 02-26-2013, 11:35 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 5,419
Default

Not a typo. It is a good deal if that's the type of system you're looking for. While tempting considering what that system would 'normally' cost, I would not shoe horn it into a place it doesn't belong--like a bass boat lol.

I have no idea if this is the case or not, but I am betting that the nso series will be replaced shortly by a multi-touch version. I can't imagine anyone spending anywhere near full price for nso equipment. While only a couple years old, it is way way behind the competition IMO.
chainsaw42 is offline  
Old 02-26-2013, 12:01 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 1,237
Default

It's listed on their promotion page. I'm quite sure it's legit. I looked at it closely a couple months ago and decided to go with a 12" NSE and a 12" NSS. I just couldn't get the monitor for that system to fit with another screen in my console.

I wish they'd run an open array radar deal again. I found a couple websites that hadn't updated that old open array deal from a couple years ago, but they all showed 'item not available' when I put them into the cart.
Ellie's Navi Gator is offline  
Old 03-03-2013, 01:34 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 26
Default upgrading electronics

I recently purchased an Ocean 38 with older non integrated Furuno radar and sounder and an older garmin plotter that is only connected to the autopilot. I want to upgrade everything and I am leaning toward Simrad. It seems like this deal on the NSO at Defender gets me the equivalent of an NSE but with a few extra things like the Simnet starter kit and external antenna all for less money than a NSE 12, so if I have space to mount the monitor , is there any reason not to go with the NSO? From what I can tell it is the same software and interface as the NSE series but with a faster processor.

To go along with it, I would add a 4G broadband radar, LSS-2 for structure scan. I am also leaning toward getting either an NSS7 or an NSS8 rather than the BSM-1 for a standard sonar since the BSM-1 appears to be integrated into the smaller NSS displays. This would also give me the benefit of being able to use the GoFree wireless.

Couple of other questions:

Will the NSO be able to get all of the sonar information from an NSS7 or NSS8 through the Simnet backbone or do I need something else to allow it to access that data?

If I use the GoFree to program routes and waypoints to the NSS7 or NSS8 from an iPad, will all of that information also be available on the NSO unit?

Thanks in advance for any info/advice.
ripple2 is offline  
Old 03-03-2013, 03:23 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 13,935
Default

Your plan sounds like an smart approach to get an excellent setup for a very good price. I don't see any reason to not go NSO, NSO can be considered a NSE without integrated display and the with control panel separated. The only thing you should check is the brightness and how far down the screen can be dimmed in case you use the boat during nigh since the screen included is not a Simrad. As a comparison NSE brightness is 1500 Nits, and it can be dimmed all the way down.

You need to connect the NSS to NSO using Ethernet to transfer sonar. The units needs to be connected by Ethernet for the radar and StructureScan to work anyway.

Any waypoints or routes entered into NSS using GoFree will immediately be synchronized with NSO.
abbor is online now  
Old 03-03-2013, 03:40 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 26
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
The only thing you should check is the brightness and how far down the screen can be dimmed in case you use the boat during nigh since the screen included is not a Simrad. As a comparison NSE brightness is 1500 Nits, and it can be dimmed all the way down.
I checked the specs from the manufacturer of the monitor that Defender is including with the package and it is apparently 1200 cd/m^2 or nits "sunlight brightness" and 700 nits "ambient backlight brightness". I am wondering about the 300 nit difference between the Simrad display at 1500 nits and the Argo monitor at 1200. I will be mounting the monitor under a hard top but when the sun is at a low angle it can still get bright on the instrument surfaces. It also does appear to be dimmable to black.

http://www.argonautcomputer.com/pdfs/Argonaut_G7.pdf
ripple2 is offline  
Old 03-03-2013, 03:50 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 13,935
Default

If the monitor is 1200 Nits this will be fine, 1200 Nits is the same as NSS and better than almost any other MFD.

But I really don't understand what they mean with "sunlight brightness" and "ambient backlight brightness".
abbor is online now  
Old 03-05-2013, 08:23 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 12
Default 3 screens?

does anyone know if you install the nso processor and you go with radar and bottom machine with 3 separate screens can you output the three different images on the 3 different screens with that single processor? in other words can the one NSO processor provide bottom on one screen, radar on another and chart on the third all at the same time??. The "old days" technology said you needed 3 separate black box components to do so.

thank you
ncfisher1 is offline  
Old 03-06-2013, 12:12 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 13,935
Default

Three NSO processors is needed to produce three separate screen outputs.
abbor is online now  
Old 03-06-2013, 02:06 PM
  #11  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 26
Default

Just pulled the trigger on this deal and ordered one today, it should be here in a couple of days. I have room on the helm of my flybridge to mount the monitor but don't have a vertical or angled surface on which to mount it so I am going to need to fabricate an enclosure. I would prefer to use something that is fiberglass like the navpods but I don't think anything large enough is commercially available. Im leaning towards fabricating an enclosure to flush mount the display out of seaboard/starboard but I would be open to any advice or suggestions from people with experience mounting displays like this...

Thanks.
ripple2 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread