Notices

Etec engine information

Old 02-25-2013, 06:37 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kingston, TN, USA and Plash Island, AL
Posts: 4,222
Default Etec engine information

I am looking at repowering my bay boat, and have a lead on a new 2010 Etec 150. Can I link this engine to my NMEA 2010 backbone and display engine information on my HDS unit? I'm not sure what year the Etecs had the capability to provide information via NMEA 2000.
weatherman is offline  
Old 02-25-2013, 07:11 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 2,412
Default

In model year 2008 and newer, E-TEC engines of 40 to 300-HP have NMEA-2000.
jhebert is offline  
Old 02-25-2013, 07:12 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 694
Default

Yes. A model year 2010 e-tec > 40 HP is nmea 2000 compatible. You asked about nmea 2010 which I am not sure exists but I'll assume a typo....;-)

You'll need the e-tec interface cable and I assume you already have the nmea 2000 network backbone. The engine just drops in with a T connector like any other device on the bus.

Lots if reading on the topic on the etecownersgroup.com site.........
Omarf4 is offline  
Old 02-26-2013, 10:36 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kingston, TN, USA and Plash Island, AL
Posts: 4,222
Default

Thanks - exactly what I needed. I have the backbone at the stern of the bay boat (fuel flow sensor installed on my 1998 Ficht 175), so the Etec adapter cable should be a snap. Heck, I have all NMEA 2000 gear in both boats, so it must be time for a new protocol (2010) that immediately makes everything I own obsolete...
weatherman is offline  
Old 02-26-2013, 01:13 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 2,412
Default

Originally Posted by weatherman View Post
Thanks - exactly what I needed.
You are welcome.

I have both an HDS and an E-TEC, and I have written extensively about them and their interconnection. You may find some of the articles linked below to be of interest to you as a source of information about the E-TEC NMEA-2000 connection, what data is available, how it appears on a Lowrance HDS, and other topics. Here are a few links to more resources:

Index of HDS articles:
http://continuouswave.com/ubb/Forum6/HTML/003038.html
These many articles about the HDS include details about its interfacing with the E-TEC

NMEA-2000 Instrumentation for Modern Outboard Engines
http://continuouswave.com/whaler/ref.../NMEA2000.html
This article has illustrations and photographs specific for the E-TEC engine.
jhebert is offline  
Old 02-26-2013, 01:30 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Saugus, Ma. USA
Posts: 10,962
Default

Since my GPS/ff has a bigger display than a regular 2" gauge, I use it to display engine RPM, engine temperature, engine hours, fuel remaining, range, and mpg.
jobowker is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread