Notices

raymarine Fluxgate sensor to Garmin

Old 02-22-2013, 04:10 PM
  #1  
FNG
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cape Cod, MA.
Posts: 445
Default raymarine Fluxgate sensor to Garmin

Has anyone tried to use a raymarine fluxgate heading sensor with a Garmin GPS unit?
The garmin heading sensor is over $800 and the Raymarine fluxgate is under $200.

I know the connections are different so was wondering if there is a way to wire up a compatable connector for the Garmin units. I have a 4212.

If this has been done I would apprieciate it if you could give me the pinout for the connector.

Thanks
FNG is offline  
Old 02-22-2013, 07:21 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,855
Default

I'm pretty sure the raymarine fluxgate isn't a standalone unit. it's designed to be used with the auto pilot. the compass is in the auto pilot brain, and the flux gate is only for corrections. as the auto pilots work without them. just work better with them.

the garmin one would be a stand alone heading sensor. you could use any nema 183 or 2000 compass with your garmin chart plotter, doesn't need to be garmin. but the raymarine isn't either of those.
smac999 is offline  
Old 02-22-2013, 08:56 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,170
Default

The Raymarine fluxgate needs to be interfaced with a Raymarine autopilot.

You can use the new Lowrance Point-1 combined gps antenna and heading sensor with NMEA 2000 output, should be available within a few weeks time. The price is $155.

http://www.starmarinedepot.com/Lowra...S+Antenna.html
abbor is offline  
Old 02-23-2013, 07:01 AM
  #4  
FNG
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cape Cod, MA.
Posts: 445
Default

Thanks very much, that will work just fine, simpler install I already have a NMEA 2000 network. Do you think I should install this in place of my garmin GPS atenna on my hardtop or can I just mount it below deck in my dash. I am only looking for the magnetic compass part for my radar / GPS overlay
FNG is offline  
Old 02-23-2013, 07:23 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,170
Default

The best would be to place the Point-1 at the hardtop as well to give GPS redundancy. I have 4 GPS antennas at the roof of my 21' pilothouse as well as two MFD's with built in GPS antennas.

For just providing heading it should work fine below deck.
abbor is offline  
Old 02-23-2013, 01:08 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,418
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
I have 4 GPS antennas at the roof of my 21' pilothouse as well as two MFD's with built in GPS antennas.

And here I thought I like overkill!



Itteldoo is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread