Notices

Lowrance EP-60 flow sensor question.

Old 02-02-2013, 08:33 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 73
Default Lowrance EP-60 flow sensor question.

How come the EP-60-R fuel flow sensor has a female connector on it? It will not connect to the T connector which is also female. I have had to plug it into the end of my NMEA 2000 network backbone. It has been running like this for 3 years and working fine. I totally forgot about it until now that Iím installing my GHP10 and want to make sure my NMEA network is sound. Iím I missing something here?
mostrander is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 01:08 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,418
Default

Originally Posted by mostrander View Post
How come the EP-60-R fuel flow sensor has a female connector on it?
Mine don't.

Perhaps a manufacturing screw-up in Navico's Mexican assembly plant?


It will not connect to the T connector which is also female.
Presumably the T-connector that came packaged with the EP-60R?


I have had to plug it into the end of my NMEA 2000 network backbone.
Bad idea. The buss is not properly terminated that way.


It has been running like this for 3 years and working fine. I totally forgot about it until now that Iím installing my GHP10 and want to make sure my NMEA network is sound. Iím I missing something here?
Ah, HA!

I'd wager you don't really have an EP-60R. You have an old EP-10, which was the SimNet version of the fuel flow sensor, not NMEA 2000.

If this is the case, I would suggest that you either replace the sensor with an EP-60R, or use a Lowrance SimNet To N2K Adapter Kit http://www.boemarine.com/marine-navi...k-adapter-kit/ (no, I don't know why it is so expensive; but it's not Jim's fault) to adapt the EP-10 to the NMEA 2000 network. Ditto for any other SimNet devices still on your network.



Itteldoo is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 03:55 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 73
Default

Thanks for the info. The only 2 devices on my network were the fuel flow sensor and Sirius I’m surprised they both worked. I guess I'll buy a EP-60R.
mostrander is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 10:51 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Default ep-60

The T that you are referring to is nothing more than a splitter off the main bus. Each pin is represented on all three connections. you do not need a terminator if you are on the end of the bus, the ep-60 serves as the terminator.
almal01 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread