Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Interface my DX500 to a C80

Old 04-13-2005, 09:35 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Huntington NY
Posts: 108
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Interface my DX500 to a C80

OK, I just installed my new C80 and will only use the plotter and radar options, as I don't want to invest in the DSM 300 plus transducer at this point.
I would like to interface my DX500 DF to the C80 and pick up the depth and temp data on the Nav screen. Is this possible? If so, how would I connect the data wires together? I will use a small terminal block to make the actual connections, just need to know what wire to connect. Thanks in advance for help. Dink ;?
Old 04-13-2005, 09:58 AM
  #2  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: BOEmarine.com
Posts: 17,582
Likes: 0
Received 191 Likes on 127 Posts
Default RE: Interface my DX500 to a C80

Check out pages 14 in the FF manual and page 25 in your C80 manual. Your interfacing should be as follows:
DS500 ---> C80
Yellow ----> White
Brown ---> Green
White ---> Yellow
Green ---> Brown

Use a water proof interfacing box such as the one by Hella Marine or Newmar. Just give me a call if you need specific details. Good Luck!
Old 04-13-2005, 11:11 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Huntington NY
Posts: 108
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Interface my DX500 to a C80

Jim

Any specific wiring considerations I should know of? I have multi conductor 16 gauge lieing around. Is this too heavy? Dink
Old 04-13-2005, 11:20 AM
  #4  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,757
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: Interface my DX500 to a C80

thedink9 - 4/13/2005 12:11 PM Jim Any specific wiring considerations I should know of? I have multi conductor 16 gauge lieing around. Is this too heavy? Dink
That will work just fine.
Old 04-13-2005, 12:49 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Huntington NY
Posts: 108
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Interface my DX500 to a C80

Thanks Jim and Birdman

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.