Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Making a line to waypoint easier to see on C120

Notices

Making a line to waypoint easier to see on C120

Old 07-16-2012, 07:24 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 527
Default Making a line to waypoint easier to see on C120

Hey Guys,
Stupid question but I feel like I've tried everything... I have a Raymarine C120 Classic and when I am running over to the Bahamas (or any other waypoint) it can get hard to see the thin black dotted line as it blends in with lat/long lines and other preset Navionics route lines (especially when I have the plexi closed). My buddy has a Garmin unit and it puts a nice think purple line that's easy to see at a quick glance... So how do I do this with my C120 (if its possible)??
Thanks,
Evan
WIDEOPEN23 is offline  
Old 07-16-2012, 08:31 AM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 51
Default

I have a Raymarine c80, like your c120 and a Garmin unit. My c80 has a small thin line, very hard to see. My Garmin unit has a thick purple line easy to see. I called up Raymarine and nothing can be done about it. If you have a route built you can change the color, this might help. I eliminated the lat/log grid. If I keep my old track lines it is also hard to see, but you can change the color of the track lines for different days. I do not know how the newer units are.
harbor is offline  
Old 07-16-2012, 09:13 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 1,453
Default

e120w is the same. i have the exact same complaint.
devildogdad is offline  
Old 07-16-2012, 10:03 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,927
Default

I have found that turning on the track function, by having a darker track line directly behind me, seeing the thin dashed line for the go to waypoint ahead of me a bit easier to see. Still hard to see but a little easier than w/o the tracks shown.
ltcavery is offline  
Old 07-16-2012, 10:45 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Jupiter
Posts: 2,793
Default

Given the information above, you might try using the highway function which gives it a different look. Split screen would help keep other vital information available too.
Tainui is offline  
Old 07-16-2012, 11:38 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 527
Default

Thank you guys for all the help. Guess I couldn't figure out how to change it because there isn't a way ha! It really sucks, so far I've been very disappointed with Raymarine in just about every way....
WIDEOPEN23 is offline  
Old 07-16-2012, 12:10 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 1,453
Default

wideopen I 100% agree. the installer was the one who recommended the Raymarine, so I went with his rec. He has a very good reputation so I listened to him.
devildogdad is offline  
Old 07-16-2012, 01:09 PM
  #8  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location:
Posts: 39
Default

If it makes you feel any better, that complaint (same unit) makes the AIS feature all but useless. Further, I asked the RM guy at the boat show in Alameda last Spring if anything could be done about it and was told that the C-120W was to be replaced in the near future and no further design was planned.
Howard Keiper
Berkeley
HowardK is offline  
Old 07-24-2012, 09:06 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 144
Default

Originally Posted by Tainui View Post
Given the information above, you might try using the highway function which gives it a different look. Split screen would help keep other vital information available too.
I have found you can run a much straighter course using the highway function.
kunzman is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread