Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Older Simrad modules, new display?

Old 07-10-2012, 02:01 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7,460
Default Older Simrad modules, new display?

I have a Simrad CA44 display that came with the boat. Not sure of the age but maybe 2003 or 2004. It has an AP11 auto pilot, a RB717A Open scanner and Airmar M260 transducer.

Are these modules compatible with the Simrad NES8? The display is getting a little long in the tooth.
Gary999 is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 02:13 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7,460
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
If your Airmar M260 has the 7 pin connector you can use that.
It does. Thank you.

The radar has 18 pins. The NEMA is 9 pin from a junction box/panel.

The power is 4 pin and it has a radar power supply box.
Gary999 is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 02:31 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,964
Default

Be careful! I believe that M260 is a special low impedance transducer specifically made for the CA CE EQ series that will cause damage to any of the newer stuff.

As for the radar, it won't work with the newer stuff.
mstyle8517 is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 02:37 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7,460
Default

Originally Posted by mstyle8517 View Post
Be careful! I believe that M260 is a special low impedance transducer specifically made for the CA CE EQ series that will cause damage to any of the newer stuff.

As for the radar, it won't work with the newer stuff.
Max, how have you been. I got the radar working with the power box I got from you.

Do you by chance ever run across CA 44 or 54 displays in decent shape?
Gary999 is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 02:58 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,964
Default

Hi Gary,

I've been good, thanks. Just got done putting an EQ44 with a glassed in SS260 on my own boat and it's a little bit of an improvement over the Garmin 545s...!

We do come across them sometimes. What's the story with yours? We may be able to throw the guts of yours into a nice looking bezel/rear chassis if the outside of yours is starting to get ugly.
mstyle8517 is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 03:14 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7,460
Default

Originally Posted by mstyle8517 View Post
Hi Gary,

I've been good, thanks. Just got done putting an EQ44 with a glassed in SS260 on my own boat and it's a little bit of an improvement over the Garmin 545s...!

We do come across them sometimes. What's the story with yours? We may be able to throw the guts of yours into a nice looking bezel/rear chassis if the outside of yours is starting to get ugly.
The screen fogs up. It clears after a while, sort of.
Gary999 is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 03:39 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,964
Default

Well it sounds like moisture is getting in there somehow. You could look for a CX44 or 54, if memory serves me correctly, those are bonded screens. Alternatively, you or we could open the CA44 up, pull the gasket, apply a layer of Silicone grease to it, stuff a bunch of silica packs in there, and that would help with the fogging - not the way I would advocate going long-term but it wouldn't hurt.
mstyle8517 is offline  
Old 07-11-2012, 08:50 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wanchese, NC
Posts: 10,704
Default

Mstyle6517 You wouldnt happen to have a CX44e front plate with a good screen would you? I have a backup cx44e but the screen has some delamination. I dont need the guts Mine work fine. Mark
offshore3144 is offline  
Old 07-11-2012, 10:34 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Jersey City,NJ
Posts: 312
Question

I own CX44, as well as RB714A, with attached Airmar p66. I was wondering too if I could replace my display with NSE8?

Last edited by ioffe; 07-11-2012 at 11:30 AM.
ioffe is offline  
Old 07-11-2012, 10:41 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,964
Default

I don't. The CX44 is a bonded screen and the bonding is mediocre at best - almost half of the ones I see have some amount of debonding going, it has absolutely no bearing on longevity or performance, and really isn't noticeable when the unit is on.

I believe the 600w transducers can be modified for the newer units, just not the 1kw ones because of the impedance difference and the fact that the 1kw ducers are dual line so they would need to be diplexed.

The long and the short of it is that if upgrading to a newer NSS/NSE suite, you will be doing a complete upgrade, there little to no cross compatibility with peripherals. None of the newer units use the Koden RB series analog domes/arrays and any transducer that's worth anything won't work either. It makes life a little more difficult but it is what it is.
mstyle8517 is offline  
Old 07-11-2012, 10:49 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Jersey City,NJ
Posts: 312
Default

Originally Posted by mstyle8517 View Post
I don't. The CX44 is a bonded screen and the bonding is mediocre at best - almost half of the ones I see have some amount of debonding going, it has absolutely no bearing on longevity or performance, and really isn't noticeable when the unit is on.

I believe the 600w transducers can be modified for the newer units, just not the 1kw ones because of the impedance difference and the fact that the 1kw ducers are dual line so they would need to be diplexed.

The long and the short of it is that if upgrading to a newer NSS/NSE suite, you will be doing a complete upgrade, there little to no cross compatibility with peripherals. None of the newer units use the Koden RB series analog domes/arrays and any transducer that's worth anything won't work either. It makes life a little more difficult but it is what it is.
Thank you, Max.
ioffe is offline  
Old 08-12-2012, 12:18 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7,460
Default

Originally Posted by mstyle8517 View Post
Well it sounds like moisture is getting in there somehow. You could look for a CX44 or 54, if memory serves me correctly, those are bonded screens. Alternatively, you or we could open the CA44 up, pull the gasket, apply a layer of Silicone grease to it, stuff a bunch of silica packs in there, and that would help with the fogging - not the way I would advocate going long-term but it wouldn't hurt.
Max, it got worse this summer. Thinking of trying to open it up. When you say apply silicon to the gasket, is that to help seal it? Can the inside of the display be wiped off? It has some junk growing in it.

Edit to add: I took it apart and see the O ring now. Should I take it out and put the silicon on? I am thinking if the O ring breaks I will 4200 the sucker together. Not much down side due to the age of the unit.

Edit: Took it apart, cleaned the glass, put in desiccant, took out the O ring and bathed it in silicon grease. Put O ring in freezer to shrink it back. Do not let the video ribbon come apart, pain in the butt. Display is like new.

Max, thanks for the idea!

Last edited by Gary999; 08-12-2012 at 05:44 PM.
Gary999 is offline  
Old 08-13-2012, 07:54 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wanchese, NC
Posts: 10,704
Default

I am replacing my screen on a backup CX44e. I just received the tft lcd back from getting it optically bonded. It s not moisture in the screen its the bonding they used breaking down. The new screen is silicon bonded which is not supposed to degrade over time. You can check out this thread. Mark

http://www.thehulltruth.com/marine-e...placement.html
offshore3144 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread