Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

What would cause my VHF to stick on channel 16

Notices

What would cause my VHF to stick on channel 16

Old 07-10-2012, 10:20 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,922
Default What would cause my VHF to stick on channel 16

Got an ICOM 422 that has worked flawless for years. Recently it has started sticking on 16 while scanning. Redid all the power connections, checked the antenna connection....all good. Only sticks on 16 and acts like another radio is keying their mic but not saying anything. All other channels work perfectly, good reception, good transmission. I have a command mic remoted but still sticks whether command mic is plugged in or not.

Is this just another case of everything on a boat eventually dies and my radio is on it's last legs. Very frustrating because we are required to monitor 16 while underway but now I can't scan so have to stay on 16 only and I get static. When someone does transmit on 16 it still goes through so this issue has me stumped.
ltcavery is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 01:55 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,552
Default

From what I remember, some of the older Icoms would switch to 16 when the metal hanger on the back of the mic got wet/touched metal.

Will it scan if you remove it from the metal mic hanging clip?
I'm on a boat is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 02:59 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,922
Default

Originally Posted by I'm on a boat View Post
From what I remember, some of the older Icoms would switch to 16 when the metal hanger on the back of the mic got wet/touched metal.

Will it scan if you remove it from the metal mic hanging clip?
Interesting. The radio's mic is on a plactic clip but the command mic is on a metal clip. But been the setup for years and just started hanging on 16. I'll have to try it out of the clips.
ltcavery is offline  
Old 07-11-2012, 05:18 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,922
Default

Originally Posted by I'm on a boat View Post
From what I remember, some of the older Icoms would switch to 16 when the metal hanger on the back of the mic got wet/touched metal.

Will it scan if you remove it from the metal mic hanging clip?
Position of the mic made no difference.
ltcavery is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread