Notices

Simrad AP 22 stuck in "TEST MODE"

Old 07-09-2012, 05:03 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NSB, Florida, USA, earth (mostly)
Posts: 4,818
Default Simrad AP 22 stuck in "TEST MODE"

Pasted from Boating Forum - I'm hoping someone has seen this issue before

Boots up and screen immediately reads
"TEST MODE"

then
after several seconds

Lysniva: 06 (stays on for 3 or 4 seconds)
Kontrast: - 04
Lysniva: 0-10 (starts at 0 and counts up to 10 and stays on for 3 or 4 seconds)

HW rev: 000
Temp: 069
Volt: 119
Kurs: 000 10 (stays there)

Pressing Standby or the Nav Key has no effect. Various key combinations do nothing. The only thing that does work is that holding down the Standy key will shut the unit off.

Manual is no help as it does not mention 'test mode'.


Anyone ever have this problem?
__________________
fishie1 is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 05:28 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 13,716
Default

Sorry I'm not able to help you but your unit has obviously entered a factory test mode. The text you have copied is in Norwegian.
abbor is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 10:57 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NSB, Florida, USA, earth (mostly)
Posts: 4,818
Default

btt
fishie1 is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 02:10 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 13,530
Default

FWIW- Here's something that apparently did NOT work for this poster:
http://www.justanswer.com/marine-ele...test-mode.html

You've probably done this but, I'd probably try holding down 1 of the other keys , including <port & >stbd when pressing standby once to turn on. Then try the next. Maybe even rotate the knob while test mode is showing, possibly while holding down one of the keys.

But safest may be to contact Navico tech support at 1-800-628-4487 if Philgorp doesn't offer up the solution.
TTaxi is offline  
Old 07-11-2012, 03:35 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NSB, Florida, USA, earth (mostly)
Posts: 4,818
Default

Playing with different key combinations is a good idea - Thanks.

I have an email into SIMRAD - hoping this is something simple.
fishie1 is offline  
Old 07-12-2012, 10:25 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 13,530
Default

My experience has been that calling has provided better results, particularly not-Fridays or -Mondays. It can be worth any wait and the techs have always been patient and very helpful to me.
TTaxi is offline  
Old 07-14-2012, 05:17 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NSB, Florida, USA, earth (mostly)
Posts: 4,818
Default

Played with button combinations and managed to get the unit to boot into Inactive mode. From this point hitting any ley should make the unit active. Unfortunately nothing else happens.
fishie1 is offline  
Old 07-14-2012, 10:58 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 13,530
Default

Does it still shut down normally with the Standby hold-down? Then still in inactive mode when turned back on? Or will it not shut down at all with the key now?

When you call Navico, if you get a solution would you kindly post it here?
TTaxi is offline  
Old 07-15-2012, 05:57 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NSB, Florida, USA, earth (mostly)
Posts: 4,818
Default

Originally Posted by TTaxi View Post
Does it still shut down normally with the Standby hold-down? Then still in inactive mode when turned back on? Or will it not shut down at all with the key now?

When you call Navico, if you get a solution would you kindly post it here?
Shuts down normally.
Reboot goes directly into TEST MODE, unless I use the key combination mentioned above.
As top posting the solution - of course - that is what this place is all about.

Thanks for your help.
fishie1 is offline  
Old 08-21-2012, 02:03 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NSB, Florida, USA, earth (mostly)
Posts: 4,818
Default

Update:
Spoke to Navico (Simrad) and the tech suggested the control unit was at fault and I should look to replace either the control unit or the entire system. Found a used control unit on ebay and three minutes for install and I was back in business.

I am going to send my dysfunctional unit to a company in Washington to see if they can repair as Simrad no longer stocks parts or works on the unit.

Thanks for everyone's assistance and suggestions.
fishie1 is offline  
Old 08-21-2012, 02:22 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 2,114
Default

Had excellent experience with the SIMRAD tech in Washinton. He was able to rehab my AP11 control unit that was doing what it sounds like yours is doing.

Very reasonable--excellent work and attitude.

Let me know if you need contact info or whatever
NoFearEyes is offline  
Old 08-21-2012, 03:55 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NSB, Florida, USA, earth (mostly)
Posts: 4,818
Default

Originally Posted by NoFearEyes View Post
Had excellent experience with the SIMRAD tech in Washinton. He was able to rehab my AP11 control unit that was doing what it sounds like yours is doing.

Very reasonable--excellent work and attitude.

Let me know if you need contact info or whatever
That's good to know - thanks,

Did you send him just the control unit or did you have to send him the j300 also? I really do not want to disconenct if I do not have to.
fishie1 is offline  
Old 08-21-2012, 04:24 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 2,114
Default

Just sent the control unit--
NoFearEyes is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread