Notices

Garmin HomePort Tips and Tricks

Old 07-08-2012, 11:13 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 4,774
Default Garmin HomePort Tips and Tricks

Let's hear 'em! How do you use your Garmin unit with Garmin HomePort? What words of wisdom can you serve up to the THT faithful?

Anything goes from the simple to the complex. I know that I am not taking full advantage of my 7212 in combination with HomePort and I'm sure others aren't either. Ok, ready set go!

keithelder is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 08:42 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Floaters
Posts: 6,070
Default

I love the homeport program for what it does, but wish it did more. It's far easier to manage waypoints on than the 7212.

My main gripe is its inability to recognize duplicates. I also wish that when you deleted something from the list, the list would stay where it was when you deleted instead of going back to the top... makes deleting the duplicates even harder.

Last edited by Miss Trial; 07-09-2012 at 08:53 AM.
Miss Trial is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 08:51 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 4,774
Default

So if you create a way point in HomePort and change the icon to a *Fish* for example, when you put the card back into the Garmin will it show up the same way?

I created several ADM files so I could keep way points seperate (in shore vs off shore and the area). Wondering when I put the card back into the unit if it is going to show them all or do I have to select something?
keithelder is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 09:07 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Floaters
Posts: 6,070
Default

well, if you select a fish on hp it will show as a fish on the 7212. But you HAVE to only select icons that the 7212 has on it (there are tons on hp that aren't on the 7212). the 7212 has plenty of memory to put all of your inshore and offshore waypoints on it at the same time unless you have a bagillion of them.
Miss Trial is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 09:35 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 4,774
Default

Hopefully the one I've selected is standard.
keithelder is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread