Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Raymarine E120 sounder zoom in and depth?

Notices

Raymarine E120 sounder zoom in and depth?

Old 07-07-2012, 03:38 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montauk, NY
Posts: 634
Default Raymarine E120 sounder zoom in and depth?

When I Zoom in on the top 200 feet of water column, the sounder does not give me the total depth of the water? For example, zooming in on the top 200 feet on a water column that is 500 total feet.. I get -.- ft.
Is there something I am missing?
NewLove is offline  
Old 07-07-2012, 05:31 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montauk, NY
Posts: 634
Default

What I was doing was I guess was setting the manual depth?
NewLove is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 07:28 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montauk, NY
Posts: 634
Default

So, you don't get a depth read setting a manual depth?
NewLove is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 08:35 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,927
Default

If you set it to see only the top 200 feet and are in deeper water, your FF will not show the depth. It is only showing the top 200 feet. You have to split the screen to show the chartplotter and use the contours of the chartplotter to get an estimated depth. I do this while offshore trolling as looking at only the top part of the water colonm shows any bait marks much better and the tuna marks much better. Any fish deeper while trolling probably won't come into your spread anyways.
ltcavery is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 10:37 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montauk, NY
Posts: 634
Default

Originally Posted by ltcavery View Post
If you set it to see only the top 200 feet and are in deeper water, your FF will not show the depth. It is only showing the top 200 feet. You have to split the screen to show the chartplotter and use the contours of the chartplotter to get an estimated depth. I do this while offshore trolling as looking at only the top part of the water colonm shows any bait marks much better and the tuna marks much better. Any fish deeper while trolling probably won't come into your spread anyways.
Ok, Great.. Exactly what I was doing.. Have you ever tried the zoom feature on the top 200 feet?
NewLove is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 11:23 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,927
Default

Originally Posted by NewLove View Post
Ok, Great.. Exactly what I was doing.. Have you ever tried the zoom feature on the top 200 feet?
I have the C120 and can only zoom the bottom. I can set the view any depth of the top of the water column but that is not zooming per se. The fish marks show up much better when looking at the top 150 feet or so as opposed to looking at the entire depth.
ltcavery is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 01:27 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montauk, NY
Posts: 634
Default

Can you Zoom up on the upper half of the water column, or just the bottom?
NewLove is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 02:07 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Smyrna Beach
Posts: 8,153
Default

Originally Posted by NewLove View Post
Ok, Great.. Exactly what I was doing.. Have you ever tried the zoom feature on the top 200 feet?
If you want the top 200ft set the manual depth to 200ft and that is what you will see. Normally zoom is showing from the bottom of the seafloor to 15-20ft above the floor.
C Skip R is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread