Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

One NSS12 Two Stations

Old 07-06-2012, 02:18 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default One NSS12 Two Stations

I would like to purchase one Simrad NSS12, coupled with the BSM-1 Sounder, and 4G Radar.
When I inquired as to whether I can swap one head unit between the bridge and the lower helm, I was told that the NEMA configuration would not function with an open circuit. I'm pretty sure the processor would just be looking for resistance, so has anyone ever fabbed a resistor box to take the place of an absent unit? If so, how much resistance is required?
Old 07-07-2012, 05:57 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 15,440
Likes: 0
Received 857 Likes on 680 Posts
Default

NMEA 2000 works fine with one or more instruments removed, nothing to worry about. Just make sure you don't break the backbone. Just unplug the connector from the back of the NSS.

You can use a Lowrance HDS to get a lower cost second station for your system. With an HDS you would not need BSM-1 since HDS has the Broadband sounder module built in. The only limitation with using a HDS would be that HDS will not use charts from the NSS, everything else will be shared.
Old 07-09-2012, 09:04 AM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks
Old 07-09-2012, 10:12 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 493
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Jspool View Post
I would like to purchase one Simrad NSS12, coupled with the BSM-1 Sounder, and 4G Radar.
When I inquired as to whether I can swap one head unit between the bridge and the lower helm, I was told that the NEMA configuration would not function with an open circuit. I'm pretty sure the processor would just be looking for resistance, so has anyone ever fabbed a resistor box to take the place of an absent unit? If so, how much resistance is required?
You cannot break the bus, you can remove devices and have an open device connection. So as long as you leave the bus/tee there, there is no issue with having the device removed.

Do not add any resistors in place of devices, resistance is only needed on the two ends of the bus.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.