Notices

Sirius Weather/ Audio

Old 07-04-2012, 02:22 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bayou Self, LA
Posts: 2,093
Default Sirius Weather/ Audio

So I just subscribed to the weather/ audio package, and realized that my audio will not play through the speakers without being connected. Do I need to hook my GPS unit up to my radio? How do I do that?
Seadonist is offline  
Old 07-04-2012, 07:12 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 296
Default

I almost did the same thing. You need to get the Sonic hub from Lowrance in order to hear the Sirius using the GPS. The weather should work for you as long as you have the weather antenna.
striper2601 is offline  
Old 07-04-2012, 08:11 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bayou Self, LA
Posts: 2,093
Default

Sonic hub is the only option? Will the sonic hub adequately push 2 or 4 JL M770's?
Seadonist is offline  
Old 07-04-2012, 08:31 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mebane, NC
Posts: 1,632
Default

You do not have to have the SonicHub - you can use any stereo that has an Aux-In. You control the Sirius radio from the HDS but the audio output goes out the LWX-1 via a 1/8" stereo plug and then into whatever you want (typically via RCA plugs). In fact, that is how you get Sirius audio from the LWX-1 into the SonicHub (and no, the SonixHub nor the LWX-1 comes with the needed cable - you have to make a trip to Radio Shack or the like).

I used a Sony stereo for quite some time before recenty switching to the SonicHub - no apparent benefit one way or the other re: the Sirius audio portion.
mwardncsu is offline  
Old 07-04-2012, 08:35 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,889
Default

The Sonic Hub is made for Navico (Lowrance/Simrad) by Fusion. It is rated at 200 watts 50 x 4 and gives you a lot of flexiblity in setting up your onboard stereo system. It comes standard with an Ipod Docking station and appropriate cables to g your system up and running.

Here are some pictures of my Simrad NSS8, WM2 (Sirius Weather/Music Box), and Sonic Hub.

Overview of my system. (Sonic Hub, Fusion 10" SubWoofer connected to a Fusion Zone Amp, 2 Fusion 7" speakers, and 2 Fusion 6.5 inch speakers).





Sonic Hub connectivity .....






WM2 Simrad Sirius Weather/Music Receiver ..... Lowrances boox is much smaller than Simrad's .....



Last edited by bluewaterpirate; 07-04-2012 at 08:46 PM.
bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 04:34 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bayou Self, LA
Posts: 2,093
Default

Originally Posted by mwardncsu View Post
You do not have to have the SonicHub - you can use any stereo that has an Aux-In. You control the Sirius radio from the HDS but the audio output goes out the LWX-1 via a 1/8" stereo plug and then into whatever you want (typically via RCA plugs). In fact, that is how you get Sirius audio from the LWX-1 into the SonicHub (and no, the SonixHub nor the LWX-1 comes with the needed cable - you have to make a trip to Radio Shack or the like).

I used a Sony stereo for quite some time before recenty switching to the SonicHub - no apparent benefit one way or the other re: the Sirius audio portion.
I'll have to double check, but I don't remember seeing an RCA jack coming out of the LWX-1 for the audio in/ out.
Seadonist is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 05:17 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,889
Default

The LWX-1 has a mini composite connector.

Last edited by bluewaterpirate; 07-05-2012 at 06:40 AM.
bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 06:29 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 316
Default

No RCA jacks in mine, I used a 1/8" stereo to RCA cable, to hook to head unit

jerryc231 is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 06:47 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Satellite Beach, FL
Posts: 10,576
Default

Originally Posted by jerryc231 View Post
No RCA jacks in mine, I used a 1/8" stereo to RCA cable, to hook to head unit

^^^^ This on my jensen no RCA either.
Danny33486 is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 06:49 AM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kinston, NC
Posts: 7
Default

When you figure out a quick solution to turning the station from the lowrance unit let me know I have the HDS 7 and the only way I can turn the station is to go through the menu and select it. Makes it kinda aggervating to have to go through that each time. Im probaley missing something......
Octane_28 is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 08:04 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mebane, NC
Posts: 1,632
Default

Originally Posted by jerryc231 View Post
No RCA jacks in mine, I used a 1/8" stereo to RCA cable, to hook to head unit

Correct - that is what I was saying with "audio output goes out the LWX-1 via a 1/8" stereo plug and then into whatever you want (typically via RCA plugs)"
mwardncsu is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 08:06 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mebane, NC
Posts: 1,632
Default

Originally Posted by Octane_28 View Post
When you figure out a quick solution to turning the station from the lowrance unit let me know I have the HDS 7 and the only way I can turn the station is to go through the menu and select it. Makes it kinda aggervating to have to go through that each time. Im probaley missing something......
You can get the Fusion WR-600 wired remote - connects to the SonicHub - lets you select the source, change volume, channels, playlists, etc - not sure that you can change/control the Sirius channels through the WR-600 however (have had issues getting my Sirius service reactivated since the winter to play with now that I have the Sonic Hub on the boat).
mwardncsu is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 09:26 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 316
Default

Originally Posted by Octane_28 View Post
When you figure out a quick solution to turning the station from the lowrance unit let me know I have the HDS 7 and the only way I can turn the station is to go through the menu and select it. Makes it kinda aggervating to have to go through that each time. Im probaley missing something......
Add what stations you like to favorites. Hold page button to lock on Sirius, use thumbwheel to scoll thru favorites
jerryc231 is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 03:11 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bayou Self, LA
Posts: 2,093
Default

Thinking of this set up:

2 pair: JL M770 (4 speakers)

1: JL 400/4 HD amp

Fusion I-Pod dock radio
Seadonist is offline  
Old 07-09-2012, 02:45 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bayou Self, LA
Posts: 2,093
Default

Originally Posted by jerryc231 View Post
No RCA jacks in mine, I used a 1/8" stereo to RCA cable, to hook to head unit

Did the same thing before I left the dock Saturday morning, and voila! Good thing I followed your tip because my I-Pod USB chord must have crapped out on me, and all I had to listen to was Sirius radio. Thanks for the tip.
Seadonist is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread