Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance transducer adaptibility

Old 07-04-2012, 06:55 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: pecan island, La.
Posts: 169
Default Lowrance transducer adaptibility

have an X70A fish finder(Lowrance) with a Lowrance bronze thru hull transducer(older model from X10, use Lowrance cable adapter), would like to update fish finder to a color Lowrance fish finder only and use the same transducer-any one know if possible-cannot get advice from Lowrance.
pisnapper is offline  
Old 07-04-2012, 08:53 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,113
Default

If the transducer still has has the 7 pin connector you can use it but I would advise getting a newer unit.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 07-04-2012 at 11:00 AM.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 07-04-2012, 09:14 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,964
Default

That unit used a 384/192 khz "3d" transducer, but it sounds like if the ducer is from a different unit, it is probably a 192 kHz transducer. Either way, most all of the newer lowrance units use the industry standard 50/200 khz frequencies, a couple use just 200khz - on the color ones, I don't know of any color units that use the 192 kHz ducers.

Long story short - if you replace your unit with anything color that's worth replacing it with (LMS, LCX, or HDS series), that transducer won't work
mstyle8517 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread