Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance HDS display question.

Old 07-02-2012, 02:56 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 29
Default Lowrance HDS display question.

I recently purchased and installed a Lowrance HDS 7.

My previous gps was a Garmin 440 series, and it would display speed and depth in the top left corner of the screen.

I took the boat out Saturday to try out the new Lowrance, and I couldn't figure out if depth (number only, not split with sonar) could be displayed with the full chart screen. I realize that there are some options with split screens to display depth and speed at the same time as following a route, but I really don't need the sonar info while running, I'd just like to monitor the water depth.
traicheic is offline  
Old 07-02-2012, 03:32 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,274
Default

Go into the settings and look for the Data Overlay options. You can pick whatever you want overlaid...and where you want it on the screen.

I run 6 boxes across the top. Depth, Speed, Water Temp, ODO, Lat/Lon and Battery Voltage.
Parthery is offline  
Old 07-02-2012, 03:33 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 132
Default

You can add the depth (as a number) to the chartplotter display (or any screen) by adding it as an "Overlay".

There is a video on how to add an overlay at http://www.lowrance.com/Support/Vide...ARINE/How-Tos/

Good Luck,
boydski is offline  
Old 07-02-2012, 03:39 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 29
Default

Thanks, I'll try it out when I get home if it's not raining.
traicheic is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread