Notices

Raymarine c-90 radar pack

Old 06-25-2012, 05:01 AM
  #1  
cj
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lenoir City, TN
Posts: 98
Default Raymarine c-90 radar pack

I got a Raymarine c-90 radar pack. Installed it per instructions. Radar works great. GPS started out as being slow to acquire satelites. Now it will only pick up 3 and then loose them and reaquire them. Not enough for a real fix. Instalation is on a 25' center console. It is under the e-box and t-top but they claim these things are good from inside a pilot house. So...

I have a help ticket open with Raymarine but they are mon-fri 9-5 kinda guys and it may be weeks before I get a chance to talk to these guys on the phone.

Anybody experience the same problem?
cj is offline  
Old 06-25-2012, 09:18 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Default

Agree with CME. You will get intermittant results like you're sharing.

The quickest and easiest fix is to get the RS130 GPS antenna and mount it up top. It connects via SeaTalk NG.
marinerjoe is offline  
Old 06-25-2012, 11:53 AM
  #3  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 367
Default

is your ebox aluminum?
Chesapeake_Installers is offline  
Old 06-26-2012, 09:44 AM
  #4  
cj
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lenoir City, TN
Posts: 98
Default

Can't get ahold of anyone at Raymarine. Do I need anything else to hook the 130 to the C90?
cj is offline  
Old 06-26-2012, 10:38 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tidewater, VA
Posts: 1,166
Default

Originally Posted by cj View Post
Can't get ahold of anyone at Raymarine. Do I need anything else to hook the 130 to the C90?
You need to establish a SeaTalk NG network. You will need a spur (white) cable to go from the MFD to a 5-way block. You'll need a power cable, and you'll need two terminators.

Run the spur to one white port in the 5-way, the power cable to another white port, and the GPS spur cable to the 3rd white port. Put the terminators in the two blue ends of the 5-way and you're done. Here's a link where you can see all the parts and get the part numbers: http://www.raymarine.co.uk/view/inde...nid=9&col=1603

Mount the GPS antenna on the roof, but not under the radar antenna. If you can, put the GPS antenna on a short pole on a ratchet mount so you can lower it when needed, and raise it ABOVE the level of the radome.

You should be good with this setup. Post pictures when you get it done.

Joe
marinerjoe is offline  
Old 07-08-2012, 04:05 PM
  #6  
cj
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lenoir City, TN
Posts: 98
Default

Thanks Guys. I am going to get some stuff ordered tomorrow.
cj is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread