Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

Notices

S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

Old 03-09-2005, 08:56 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 164
Default S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

Has anyone had any exprience with this new autopilot with larger center consoles with twin outboard and seastar steering with twin steering clyinders? I breifly met the raymarine salesrep and discussed the new autopilot for my new cat. He told me for now, they only indicate that the S-1000 is designed for boats up to 25 feet with single outboards. He could not tell me if it would work for my boat.

Has anyone installed this with twin cylinder seastar steering in a boat larger than 25 feet? If so your feedback would be appreciated. Thanks
prokat26 is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 10:15 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Encino California
Posts: 1,146
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

It has not shipped yet!
No one has one.

Bogart
Bogii is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 03:29 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: roswell, ga, fulton
Posts: 2,792
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

prokat,
The autopilot rating is based on the steering cylender size. Check to see what capacity the steering cyl. are and the suggested max cyl size par the autopilot. I have a PK 2860TE and use an AP12 which performs perfectly. Unless the steering mech is changed from 2002, both cyl are operated at the same time but the autopilot only has to have capacity rating of one cyl. (only have to move volume of one cyl to completely activate both)
Cats track great with small autopilots due to the hull design. You won't believe how much you will use the autopilot once it's installed. Not sure about new Ray APs though. Simrad makes great units and has excellent warranty service.
Joe
popl is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 06:41 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Egg Harbor Twp NJ Usa
Posts: 657
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

The S 1000 will work up to a ram of 8 Cu in. For your boat you would need a smartpilot S1 Ap It would give you the choice of the 6001 or 8001 head. It is best to have a pumpm that is too big as opposed to one that is not big enough or borderline. The S1G (gyro) unit would also be a good idea if you want the overlay stabilization on the chartplotter.
gotumon is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 07:16 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,513
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

The S1000 works off of the gps. Wait till you see how small the pump and computer are. Should take no time to install. Also the wireless remote is great. Drop it overboard the autopilot automatically goes to standby, no worries. I know of a demo boat with it already and he likes it so far to date.
swamppro is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 07:26 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chester,Va.-29\' Fountain
Posts: 363
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

I was told the s1000 and AP12 would not work on my boat with twin seastar HC5345 cylinders.The s1000 is just two small for my 29' but the AP12 would had worked if I had one cylinder.I was told I need at least the AP16 with the rpu160 pump not the rpu080.
SEA-YA is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 08:00 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Egg Harbor Twp NJ Usa
Posts: 657
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

How about the s2 unit?
gotumon is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 08:23 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,513
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

The S1 also does not have the Hz for great radar overlay (5HZ) but the S2 and S3 both output 10HZ which is more than enough.
swamppro is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 06:13 AM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

Several guys with overlay say the S1's are sufficient at 5hz.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 09:46 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 164
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

I would prefer to stick with the RM, since I would use the seatalk plug to accomplish this. I have the C-120 and recently after a 30 mile run, I was really wishing I had the AP. Raymarine has promised Prosports one of the new S-1000 units as soon as they are ready. The Prosports people told me as soon as they get one they will put it on a 2860 for evaluation. There is some concern that the pump will not have enough volume or power to deal with this much over the recommendation.

I was trying to get away from the rudder reference unit, since so many post have indicated they are a pain in the azz.
prokat26 is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 11:20 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

Supposedly the S1g's (and the S2's,S3's) will have a firmware update available that lets you use the AP without a feedback unit.

Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 04:57 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 164
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

How much better is the S1 compared to the S1G? If you go with a ST6000 S1 they are going for 1k on the internet.
prokat26 is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 05:08 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

It's the S1G that is the better unit. The G on the end signifies that the AP has the rate compass and upgraded firmware.

Whether you would need an S1G or an S2G or even an S3G is dependent on the vessel weight and cylinder cu. in. I would recommend talking with raymarine customer support themselves.
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 05:21 PM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: roswell, ga, fulton
Posts: 2,792
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

Prokat,
The HC5345 rams have a capacity of 8.3 c.i., just over the capacity rating of the S-1000s 5.4-8.0.
In ideal running conditions, the hydraulic pumps don't have to work very hard while underway at moderate speed. Troll or add in a little wave action and the have to work extremely hard. A lot will depend on how tight the Ray specs were written and how tough the pump is. What is somewhat of a question is why did they desigh the system with such a limited cyl capacity. For comparison, the AP 12 unit has a capacity of from 5.4-15.25 c.i. I think they limited the market to boats powered under 200 hp, everything over that requires a slightly larger ram than the S-1000 can handle. Anything larger looks like would require their larger conventional pump units. At $1300 SRP, Ray is trying to compete with Simrad on their smaller AP products with twice the pump capacity. I would really like to see a little service data on one in a PK setup. That rudder feedback unit is the weak link in most systems. With Yams it's difficult to place the unit and when installed the engines must be straight to tilt the lower units out of the water without crushing the feedback cyl.
Joe
popl is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 08:48 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chester,Va.-29\' Fountain
Posts: 363
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

My boat with HC5345 cylinders that are parallel can use the S2 I was told today.Like the above post states that these cylinders are 8.3 c.i. X 2 = 16.6 c.i..The S2 pump works up to 21 c.i.

Prokat,if your cylinders are hooked up like mine you need the bigger pump also.If they are running as one you can use the smaller pump.This is what I was told by a RM rep today.
SEA-YA is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 07:12 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 164
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

I know that my cylinders are tied together with the starboard engine going through an adjustment valve. Would this be parallel or in series?
prokat26 is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 08:00 AM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

I would bet that they are parrallel
Sea_Dad is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 11:03 AM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: roswell, ga, fulton
Posts: 2,792
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

Prokat,
He may be right about the paralell alignment. I was under the impression that my 02 model was series. I could confirm if the boat wasn't 300 mi from here. Ask Mike at PS mike4207426@aol.com about your model. If he's right then my AP12 is at the top end of it's capacity but it's worked flawlessly for 3 yrs. Once we clear the beach, our first stop is often over 50 mi out and that AP really makes the trip a pleasure.

Joe
popl is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 08:54 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chester,Va.-29\' Fountain
Posts: 363
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

I wasn't sure about all this parallel or not on cylinders but I sort of understand what the Ray rep was telling me.
My one hydraulic line comes from helm,done starb. side,out to first cylinder to a "T".{This is what makes the differance if parallel or not}The "T" is hooked right to the cylinder with a line coming from that "T" going to the "T" on the next cylinder.From that "T" the line goes into port side of boat near port engine back through back part of bilge back up starb. side back to helm.With the hydraulic lines running like this I was told the pump would be pushing 16.6 c.i..Can you visualize what I'm talking about?
I'm not sure how else they would be tied in or what it looks line in a series.

"Sea-Ya"
SEA-YA is offline  
Old 03-12-2005, 09:58 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 865
Default RE: S-1000 autopilot w/twins seastar steering

Sea_Dad - 3/10/2005 12:20 PM

Supposedly the S1g's (and the S2's,S3's) will have a firmware update available that lets you use the AP without a feedback unit.
I spoke to a raymarine rep via email, I am interested in the S1G 6001 for a 279 coastal. Raymarine Tech stated he has not heard of this.
good luck
bignick1 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread