Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Temporary P-79 tranducer mount???

Old 03-06-2005, 07:20 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Satellite Beach Florida
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Temporary P-79 tranducer mount???

I think I have found the spot where I am going to mount my P-79 but is there a good way to do a temporary mount and test it out. I already did the initial testing as recommended by Airmar and think my location is good but want to test with as close to actual install as possible.
Old 03-06-2005, 07:37 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 3,997
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Temporary P-79 tranducer mount???

Double sticky foam tape will hold it in place until you start moving.

A safer bet would be to describe where it is you want to mount it and then let everyone beat it senseless.

Old 03-06-2005, 08:29 PM
  #3  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 35
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Temporary P-79 tranducer mount???

Place it in a bag of water and set it in the desired location. Use plastic (i.e., ziplock) bags full of sand to hold it in position. You want to make sure the hull is solid with no voids that will disrupt the signal. Before you start this test, have someone hold the transducer in the water beside the boat so you can see what a "perfect" image looks like. If it's a really good friend, or your wife, you can also try this test at WOT...just kidding.

After you find a position that provides a clean signal at rest, then test at varying speeds to make sure you don't lose lock at higher speeds. If you lose lock, then the water below the transducer is turbulent ( i.e., it has too much air in it) and you will need to try another position. This turbulence is often caused by a hull strake or thru hull fitting.


For small planing boats, the best location is usually close to the center line and as far to the sten as you can get it.

Good luck,
Killeen

Old 03-06-2005, 08:38 PM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Satellite Beach Florida
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Temporary P-79 tranducer mount???

I've done the bag of water thing but I would like to mount the whole set up and see if the spot I have selected really works. I am looking for some way to mount the shell without actually using epoxy so I can change the location if needed.
Old 03-06-2005, 10:36 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,414
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Temporary P-79 tranducer mount???

Airmar's current recommendation is to mount the P79 with silicone...not epoxy.....so just mount the mounting bracket and you can always pull/cut it away if it doesn't work in that spot.
Old 03-07-2005, 10:52 AM
  #6  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location:
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Temporary P-79 tranducer mount???

Mr. Tweiss,

Any news on the performance of the "super-low-Q" in-hull transducers? Did you get one? How does it perform? What is the cost? Thanks - E. Fitzgerald.
Old 03-07-2005, 05:24 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,414
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Temporary P-79 tranducer mount???

No idea what Airmar is doing about commercializing the Low Q P79. Yes, I have one and get great bottom pictures at 2' depth and can really separate the fish. It's single frequency..they could not build it with dual frequency, so that's the trade off...no wide view. I really needed shallow readings given where I boat.
Old 03-07-2005, 07:05 PM
  #8  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Satellite Beach Florida
Posts: 42
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Temporary P-79 tranducer mount???

Thanks Think Twiess. I hadn't noticed that and that will make things much easier.
Old 03-07-2005, 08:02 PM
  #9  
Junior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Punta Gorda, FL
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Temporary P-79 tranducer mount???

I'm in process of doing same thing. I just mounted the shell using plumbers putty and filled it with water. Seems to be holding the water and is very easy to remove for permanent install. Haven't gotten out to test it yet so ... As previously stated, Airmar now recommends using silicone, like GE Silicone II, and mineral oil for final installation.

Hank

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.