Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Anyone here already using the Raymarine E125

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Anyone here already using the Raymarine E125

Old 04-30-2012, 12:43 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brick, NJ
Posts: 176
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone here already using the Raymarine E125

Just wondering if any members have this installed and have any real life experience with the new units? I am thinking of doing an upgrade for my boat and really like what I see.

Just looking for confirmation from current users (if any, I know it was recently released but figure maybe some FL guys or West Coast guys may have some time on the units already). I've bought too many things with "vaporware" (shown as released but still in development) that I'd love to hear any comments good or bad from users..
Thanks
Ken
Old 04-30-2012, 01:01 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 399
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I installed a c127 last week.
Should be the same w/out the touch screen.
On the trailer, radar, plotter and fish finder work great.
Hope to have it out on the water next weekend.
Old 04-30-2012, 03:18 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 469
Received 83 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

I'm getting a e95 and a c95 installed this week I'll let you know how it works!
Old 04-30-2012, 03:55 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 399
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Split shot of radar and plotter.

Old 04-30-2012, 06:48 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brick, NJ
Posts: 176
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bigsampson
I installed a c127 last week.
Should be the same w/out the touch screen.
On the trailer, radar, plotter and fish finder work great.
Hope to have it out on the water next weekend.
Great let me know how it works in the water...like to hear some reports
Thanks
Ken
Old 04-30-2012, 06:51 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brick, NJ
Posts: 176
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by karlk1125
I'm getting a e95 and a c95 installed this week I'll let you know how it works!
Looking forward to your reports thanks...
Old 05-10-2012, 10:30 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brick, NJ
Posts: 176
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Any updates from anybody with real life experiances yet? Just wondering...
Thanks
Ken
Old 05-10-2012, 10:56 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location:
Posts: 549
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

I have an e7D which is the little bro to these guys and have used on the water twice so far. Really like it sans a few features I miss from my basic Garmin 172C...but that's more an issue of my setup than the system.

Its fast, sounder is good, charting works well, the interface is great and the radar is wonderful. One gotcha I didn't love is they stopped allowing for COG usage for radar overlay. Have to pony up for a heading sensor.
Old 05-10-2012, 11:23 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 399
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

After our first weekend of use,
The GPS track plotter works great. Still learning the machine.
Need to learn how to import some waypointts using my iPad.
The radar is great. Very accurate, detailed and easy to use.
I kept my Furuno fish finder As a second machine when i upgraded. In comparison, the Furuno is much better. Works better at speed and stays locked on the bottom to much deeper bottoms. This may be the way I have it set up. Need more time switching between the units and dialing in the settings. Hopefully I will be able to get the same level of performance out of the raymarine unit. The transducers appear to be equal.
I need to use it more so I can get used to it.
The one thing I have had issue, need to calibrate my finger I guess, is that when you push down on the toggle switch, it tends to move at the same time as you push down, changing things. This is worse if it is a tad ruff or when running.
Overall, I really like it so far.
Old 05-11-2012, 12:24 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 984
Received 239 Likes on 124 Posts
Default

I should be running my boat from San Diego to Ilwaco, WA next week.

A 1,000 mile trip should reveal any flaws with my E125.

I will try and post when I get back.
Old 05-12-2012, 08:33 PM
  #11  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Voorhees,NJ
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile New Raymarine e125 and e95

I have installed the new Raymarine touchscreen units in place of my e120 and e80. They are great. It took me a few hours to figure out what was where. The refresh rate is super quick. Annapolis Yacht Sales installed them. They did a great job. I also installed an AIS transceiver. It works well. I put two i70 multifunctions in place of my older 6000 models and they work well also. You can contact me at MandMs710@verizon.net

Big Moe
Old 05-16-2012, 05:52 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brick, NJ
Posts: 176
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the input... Would love to hear about that 1,000 mile trip with them.
Old 05-16-2012, 07:35 PM
  #13  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location:
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I'm in the process of installing an e127. I cant wait to see it in action. Its got the best networking capabilities bar none. My system has an SR6 network switch. The SR6 integrates xm weather and radio as well as ethernet. this eliminates the need for a stereo head unit on my dash. Weather data is xmit'd directly to the display over ethernet. Audio is output directly to the amp. Slicker than snot. One gotcha that I discovered is that the e127 doesn't have a siriusXm tuner control. At least its not mentioned in the user manual or release notes. Previous generations (aka the classic series) had this function. So I was a bit surprised.

I'd like to give Kent at BOE two thumbs up for helping me and the numerous calls back and forth getting the system configuration right, parts, cables and answering all my dumb questions, etc. He even made a call to Ray to ask "wtf is up with the sat radio tuner". The answer is its coming and will be available in a software update.

-sent from Chum's ray-pad
Old 05-17-2012, 03:53 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
Posts: 249
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Chum,
I have the E127 and SR6 as well but did not sign up for the music.

So there is no way to control music out of the SR6 the way it stands now?
Warren
Old 05-17-2012, 11:07 AM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brick, NJ
Posts: 176
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by chumtini View Post
One gotcha that I discovered is that the e127 doesn't have a siriusXm tuner control. At least its not mentioned in the user manual or release notes. Previous generations (aka the classic series) had this function. So I was a bit surprised.

I'd like to give Kent at BOE two thumbs up for helping me and the numerous calls back and forth getting the system configuration right, parts, cables and answering all my dumb questions, etc. He even made a call to Ray to ask "wtf is up with the sat radio tuner". The answer is its coming and will be available in a software update.

-sent from Chum's ray-pad
Chum:
Yea I was surprised to hear that about the stereo as my older Raymarine's had it built in. Which as I understand it would mean two satellite antenna's I am guessing if I go for the 125 one for weather and one for stereo unit... but if they are coming out with a simple software update to add stereo that would be one less hole in the top... hopefully it will be this year not next...
Old 05-17-2012, 03:04 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,804
Likes: 0
Received 1,687 Likes on 921 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bigsampson View Post
.
On the trailer fish finder work great.
.
Did it mark any fish?

Last edited by semperfifishing; 06-12-2012 at 08:27 PM.
Old 05-17-2012, 03:22 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 399
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Did it mark fish on the trailer,
Now that is funny.

At least give me credit with the whole quote, "On the trailer, radar, plotter and fish finder work great"

By that I meant that it powered up and at least read the temp.

I did use it on the water weekend before last.
It worked very nicely in the marina and running up and down the Ms river, but as soon as things got over 100 feet or so, had trouble staying locked on while running. At depths of 200 to 300 had trouble keeping up with the bottom in auto mode no matter what speed.
It is probably operator error.

I ended up turning the depth finder mode off and went to my Furuno and just used the c127 for gps and radar.
I'll try to play with it some more this weekend or next, on the water.

I did like the system enough to buy an E7d to go with it. Haven't decided if I am going to put it in the console or in the tower yet.
Old 05-17-2012, 03:44 PM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 16,311
Likes: 0
Received 1,109 Likes on 901 Posts
Default

Bigsampson, a few more details regarding your equipment would be very useful.

Which radar model do you have (size, HD or non HD)?
Which transducer do you have for the Raymarine unit?
Which Furuno fishfinder do you have?
Which transducer model is connected to the Furuno?
Old 05-17-2012, 06:55 PM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 399
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Abbot,
The radar is an RD424D HD 4kw 24" radome.
It works great, clearly shows pilings, jetties, boats, buoys etc while running the river.

Transducer on the c127 is an airmar P66. 200/50 khtz triducer. Speed and temp are good to go.

The Furuno is an older FCV 582L.
I don't know what the transducer is, but it looks allot like the P66 triducer, transom mount.
It is very accurate and stays hooked up to 500 feet running at 45 kts and much better trolling and at drift.

The transducers are mounted on the transom on opposite sides of the centerline in the same way and same angles, mirror fashion.
I don't think motor interference is an issue due to the euro transom.

I think I just need to work with the settings on the c127 to learn how to get the most out of it.
Like I said, really like the systems, I have Raycontrol on my iPad and it works great.
Old 05-18-2012, 03:36 AM
  #20  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location:
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jerseyken View Post
Chum:
Yea I was surprised to hear that about the stereo as my older Raymarine's had it built in. Which as I understand it would mean two satellite antenna's I am guessing if I go for the 125 one for weather and one for stereo unit... but if they are coming out with a simple software update to add stereo that would be one less hole in the top... hopefully it will be this year not next...
EXACTAMUNDO. If anyone has any insight to when this may be corrected, I'm all ears.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.