Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Speakers shut off after 5 minutes

Old 04-18-2012, 06:32 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 1,462
Received 185 Likes on 70 Posts
Default Speakers shut off after 5 minutes

I have a Clarion CMD7 (brand new just bought it yesterday) hooked up to a Rockford 700W amp. I have 4 speakers hooked up to the amp. I turn on the radio and it plays music for 5 minutes and then the speakers shut off..... I disconnected the amp and connected the speakers straight to the radio and they didn't shut off. When the amp is hooked up and the sound goes off the light on the amp is still on. I don't know whether the amp is bad or not.... If anyone has any suggestions before buying a new amp I'd appreciate it.
Old 04-18-2012, 06:36 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 389
Received 61 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

It sounds like the amp is over heating....I would double check your connections and just take it back for another one to be sure....
Old 04-18-2012, 06:36 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 4,437
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Sounds like your amp is clipping. Running it too hard.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clipping_(audio)
Old 04-18-2012, 06:38 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 389
Received 61 Likes on 40 Posts
Default

Also make sure you use the right size Hot and Ground wire. small ones will over heat it...
Old 04-18-2012, 06:40 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 1,462
Received 185 Likes on 70 Posts
Default

daughtrylc- I have checked all of the connections and the amp doesn't feel hott.

EODContender- I have the level all the way down.
Old 04-18-2012, 06:42 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 1,462
Received 185 Likes on 70 Posts
Default

The wire for the Hot and Ground are really thick.
Old 04-18-2012, 06:47 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 4,437
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Have you looked in the maual at the trouble shooting page?
Old 04-18-2012, 06:52 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Bad head unit...thermally tripping, probably
Old 04-18-2012, 06:57 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 1,462
Received 185 Likes on 70 Posts
Default

EODContender- Unfortunately the boat came with the amp and it didn't have any papers.

Glen E- This is the second head unit I install. The first one was a Sony and it did the same thing.

The head unit stays on and the speakers continue to play if they are connected directly to the head unit. They only shut off if they are connected to the amp.
Old 04-18-2012, 06:58 PM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 4,437
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

You can get the manual online if you google the model number of the amp. That could help steer you in the right direction.
Old 04-18-2012, 07:13 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 1,462
Received 185 Likes on 70 Posts
Default

Just downloaded and read the 4 troubleshooting tips they have and I've done them all. I think I'm going to just have to bite the bullet and buy a new amp....
Old 04-18-2012, 10:56 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 14,711
Received 604 Likes on 455 Posts
Default

I don't know much about this audio stuff at all, but are each of your 6 speakers hooked up individually to separate amp outputs or are they wired in parallel or series in 2 channels? > Does the total impedence for each circuit match the amp output impedence requirements? For example, if hooked up three 4 ohm speakers a side in parallel you may have too much current demand on the amp as the impedance would then be 1.33333.. ohms. Forgive if my use of the the impedence term vs resistance is technically incorrect.

This... might.... help:
http://www.bcae1.com/spkrmlti.htm
It even has a bunch "plug-in" calculators !

Last edited by TTaxi; 04-18-2012 at 11:06 PM.
Old 04-19-2012, 07:31 AM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 1,462
Received 185 Likes on 70 Posts
Default

TTaxi- I have 4 speakers and they are wired in parallel. Two speakers are 200 Watts max 40 watts nominal power handling and 4 ohms. The other two speakers are 260 Watts max and 120 watts RMS and 4 ohms.
Old 04-19-2012, 08:04 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 887
Received 106 Likes on 45 Posts
Default

So this is a two channel amplifier with 2 sets of 2 speakers in parallel, correct? If so, remove two of the speakers and only run two. See if the amp shuts down. If it does not, then you are stressing the amplifier with your load.
Old 04-19-2012, 10:58 AM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 1,462
Received 185 Likes on 70 Posts
Default

Bit the bullet and bought a new 840 watt 4 channel amp. I will install tomorrow and update.
Old 04-19-2012, 12:59 PM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 14,711
Received 604 Likes on 455 Posts
Default

Sorry I somehow registered 6 speakers instead of your 4 . That wiring with the 2 ch amp creates the effect of having one 2 ohm speaker on each side.

Curious , is this for a very large boat? 840 amps output must demand a lot of amps input. Not to mention the neighbor factor .
Old 04-19-2012, 01:22 PM
  #17  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Magnolia, MA.
Posts: 537
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TTaxi View Post
Sorry I somehow registered 6 speakers instead of your 4 . That wiring with the 2 ch amp creates the effect of having one 2 ohm speaker on each side.

Curious , is this for a very large boat? 840 amps output must demand a lot of amps input. Not to mention the neighbor factor .
TTAxi: Not really. That's total watts (that's watts, not amps)

I own a Clarion XN-3210 2-channel amp Clarion XN-3210 @ 360 watts driving 2-Pioneer 8" speakers. The Clarion XN-3410 4-channel amp is 720 watts.

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...on-XN3410.html

840 watts isn't over-the-top.
Old 04-19-2012, 01:28 PM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 1,462
Received 185 Likes on 70 Posts
Default

It's for a 20' seacraft. The watts is nothing out of this world. I have a 1200 watt 4 ch amp on my big boat pushing 4 6.5" speakers.
Old 04-19-2012, 05:21 PM
  #19  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: M.Vineyard, MA
Posts: 14,711
Received 604 Likes on 455 Posts
Default

Sorry again, meant to type watts, too tired.
You must be able to hear that Ok all the way to the bow of the SC.

Enjoy.
Old 04-19-2012, 05:26 PM
  #20  
Senior Member
 
MB Marine Electronics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Posts: 1,110
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I hate to ask but since no one else did. How is the voltage going to the amp are you sure it is getting enough power? What you describe sure sounds like a power problem.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.