Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine C-80 MFD Software Update

Old 04-09-2012, 08:16 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 166
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Raymarine C-80 MFD Software Update

I am trying to update the software in my C80, downloaded the files onto a sandisk CF card (4GB) but the MFD would not recognize the card. I also downloaded Raymarine's CF card compatability checker and it too could not recognize the card and gave a error 5 message. I read on the website that a sandisk CF card with a capacity of 32-256 MB is recommended. My question is: will the MFD recognize cards that have a capacity greater than 256 MB or could there be some other issue? What started all of this is a "No data source" message on my MFD. The DSM 300 was recently sent back to the factory for repair and software updates, the software in the MFD has never been updated so I hoping an update would solve the problem. It is not a voltage or battery issue, wired both directly to a new battery without any success. Thanks in advance for your time and assistance.
Old 04-09-2012, 08:29 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,048
Received 416 Likes on 226 Posts
Default

4gb is too large, buy a smaller card on ebay
Old 04-09-2012, 09:18 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 166
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Smaller Card

Thanks Mstyle, that's pretty much what I thought but wanted confirmation before wasting anymore time, I'll start looking for one.
Old 04-09-2012, 09:32 AM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I bought two 256MB cards from suntekstore.com for $6.12 each with free shipping. Took about 10 days to get here.
Old 04-09-2012, 02:59 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 166
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Sandisk CF Card

Thanks Hightides, got one on the way, hope it will be the answer to ALL my troubles. Wishfull thinking I know.
Old 04-09-2012, 05:38 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Up and Down the East Coast
Posts: 335
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Every time I have done a software update it has ended with a call to Raymarine. Confusing instructions, locked display, no download, etc. And all screen customization must be re-entered after the download.
Old 06-19-2012, 10:40 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: North Shore
Posts: 376
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Rumor has it that if you update the C series to the newest software, radar overlay will no longer work? Anyone else hear this? Thx
Old 06-19-2012, 12:29 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 166
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Radar

So that is why my radar stopped working, can the older version of the software be re-installed??? I only use the Radar portion of the unit anyway.
Old 06-19-2012, 12:38 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by capcoe View Post
I am trying to update the software in my C80, downloaded the files onto a sandisk CF card (4GB) but the MFD would not recognize the card. I also downloaded Raymarine's CF card compatability checker and it too could not recognize the card and gave a error 5 message. I read on the website that a sandisk CF card with a capacity of 32-256 MB is recommended. My question is: will the MFD recognize cards that have a capacity greater than 256 MB or could there be some other issue? What started all of this is a "No data source" message on my MFD. The DSM 300 was recently sent back to the factory for repair and software updates, the software in the MFD has never been updated so I hoping an update would solve the problem. It is not a voltage or battery issue, wired both directly to a new battery without any success. Thanks in advance for your time and assistance.
Your obviously are aware of the voltage issues but I'll beat the dead horse again. Is this new battery isolated (not connected to anything else) and only used by the DSM300 when you test?. You can connect directly to the battery but if the wire gauge is too small/distance to great or if you have other competing devices...lights, livewell etc... then you will still get the error message and the annoying beep. I finally rewired my entire boat and ran 6 gauge from my battery selector to panel (15 ft) and the problem stopped unless my house bank gets weak when I'm anchored up all day tuna fishing.
Old 06-22-2012, 09:18 AM
  #10  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 68
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by capcoe View Post
So that is why my radar stopped working, can the older version of the software be re-installed??? I only use the Radar portion of the unit anyway.
Cape if you here I sure would be interested. I lost my overlay as well when I updated the SW.
Old 06-22-2012, 02:16 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 166
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Radar

I'LL post when I get a chance to work on it, however it will be a while so you might want to ask a tech a Raymarine. And yes it was connected directly to the battery using just the Raymarine cables, Found out that my MSD 300 was shot and the port going to the MFD was also not working. Not worth fixing in my opinion, but would still like to use the radar if I can get it working again. Good Luck all.
Old 06-22-2012, 05:52 PM
  #12  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 531
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Thumbs up

FYI, when we do the updates to the Raymarine machines, we usually use a Sandisk brand CF of 16-32mb depending on the size of the updates, they may need to be up to a 64mb. Running the CF check is a good thing. Ray Tech's told us that its usually a timing issue with the card. If none of these work, you can usually get them to send you the update on a chip, by making a deposit. You then get your deposit back once you return the chip.

hope this helps
Old 06-22-2012, 05:58 PM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Waterford,CT
Posts: 898
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I have 4.29 software for C classic displays. I would be happy to send it to anyone who would like it. This version will allow radar overlay to work without a heading sensor.
Old 06-22-2012, 08:33 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 502
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I just updated my c-120's and all works well. No overlay issues.

I couldnt find a 256mb card so i used a 1GB card with no issues. Anything larger and that card wont work.
Old 06-22-2012, 08:40 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 271
Likes: 0
Received 26 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

I updated my C-80 about a month ago and it took about 5 mins from download onto card to download onto C-80 super easy with no problems. But I do use a old sandisk cf card that is 128mb.
Old 11-22-2014, 03:27 AM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Baton Rouge La.
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Raymarine software version 4.29

Originally Posted by tpp517 View Post
I have 4.29 software for C classic displays. I would be happy to send it to anyone who would like it. This version will allow radar overlay to work without a heading sensor.
Could someone send me a copy of this version through email.
Old 11-22-2014, 07:56 PM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 331
Likes: 0
Received 21 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Pm me your email address and i will send you 4.30 latest version to allow radar overlay. Raymarine removed it off their downloads. I can send it monday when i get back to the office where i have it.
Old 11-23-2014, 05:43 AM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 169
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

the 4.30 can be found here:
https://flir.box.com/shared/static/9...isyhh928do.zip
as well
Old 11-23-2014, 06:52 AM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 331
Likes: 0
Received 21 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

Thanks for the link. I will save it as a back up in case in lose mine
Old 11-23-2014, 03:11 PM
  #20  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Baton Rouge La.
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile thanks

Thanks guys that was fast

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.