Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine L760 Module

Old 03-03-2012, 06:14 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Posts: 1,167
Received 112 Likes on 64 Posts
Default Raymarine L760 Module

As a back up to my Garmin 3010, I have a Raymarine L760 however it does not work because there is a module that is not working that is located under the center console which is connected to the Raymarine for the transducer and the GPS antenna. Does anyone know where I can get one of these modules (not sure if it is even called a module). The Raymarine unit powers up but the info is non-existent or incorrect. I looked on E-Bay but no luck.
Old 03-03-2012, 06:24 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 1,578
Received 12 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

If it is a l760 you can just put the duser cable into the machine and do away with the dsm250. You may need to remove the hsb cable but that I'm not sure about. The module (dsm250) makes the l760 a digital picture. It can also be used to turn a pathfinder radar or chart plotter into a fish finder.
Old 03-03-2012, 07:46 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,494
Received 526 Likes on 304 Posts
Default

GPS signal should either be coming in through the NMEA wires on the power/data cable from the 3010, coming in through the NMEA wires on the power/data cable from a Raystar 120, or you've got a raystar 120 connected to the unit via the seatalk 3 pin plug. If you've got a 120 (or a 112) up top and it's not getting a fix, you probably have a bad internal battery in the antenna. I have and can replace those batteries.

As for this module, the poster above is correct. The L760 has it's own sounder board. It is not as good as the DSM250 (which is the module I believe you are talking about). It's quite possible that there is an issue with the sounder on the L760 and the previous owner designated the L760 as a repeater and plugged a 250 in there or they may have wanted a 1kw ducer which would be best used with the 250. If the unit is a backup, you will probably need to change the setting that designated the unit as a repeater and then plug the ducer into the back of it
Old 03-05-2012, 10:39 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl
Posts: 670
Likes: 0
Received 33 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

I have a l760 plus and Im having problems getting a fix on the gps. It comes in and out and is very inconsistent.

Mstyle, can you tell me where to find this battery and how to change it. I have the raystar 120 antenna.
Old 03-06-2012, 01:42 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,494
Received 526 Likes on 304 Posts
Default

It's soldered in three places on antenna's circuit board. Unless you have a good soldering station with a solder sucker and a thin pencil tip, I wouldn't chance it as one of the leads is right next to some sensitive stuff and if solder "spills" over, you can short out the antenna. Give us a call, we do em' for $50 and have fresh batteries in stock.
Old 03-06-2012, 10:30 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl
Posts: 670
Likes: 0
Received 33 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

will do max, i gotta get the boat back from the shop sometime this week and then i can get to taking the antenna off. Is this like a one day job that I can take it to you and wait for it or does it take sometime???, I'm in North Miami beach so boca is a short 45 min ride.
Old 03-07-2012, 04:45 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,494
Received 526 Likes on 304 Posts
Default

pm sent
Old 03-08-2012, 03:28 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 246
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Been through that, the 120's are very unstable. I would ditch it and get the 125 and it'll work just great. I have a 760 as well as a back-up to my Garmin. They're a little clunky to use but dead reliable.
Old 03-08-2012, 03:39 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,494
Received 526 Likes on 304 Posts
Default

The 120's use the same type of battery as the 125's - but I'll concede that the 125 is a better antenna - if you have deep pockets.

Back to the OP, did you figure things out ;?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.