Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Stereo Install

Old 02-29-2012, 07:55 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 104
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stereo Install

Im looking to flush mount a Sony Marine head unit in my E-box but having trouble figuring out how to mount it. Anyone have some direction on you to secure the unit? I have a spash guard that provides some support but the unit does not have anyway to fasten it to the panel im trying to flush mount it to. Are there brackets that I am missing or is this something that requires some custom fabrication to secure the unit from the back of the panel?

Any help/photos would be great.

Thanks.
Old 02-29-2012, 09:00 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Magnolia, MA.
Posts: 537
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

You'll need a gimbal mount stereo enclosure. I'm not a fan of West Marine, but I can tell you this is the best gimbal mount I could find because it's deeper then most & has a great cable management system.

http://www.westmarine.com/webapp/wcs...classNum=50204

I purchased this direct from Jensen Marine. It wouldn't fit my Clarion M309 (needed like another 2") The Jensen isn't that bad to work with either because the top pops right off. Short money too....Well I just checked their website & it went up to $41.99 w/ free shipping. I paid $32.99 w/ free shpping for it like 10 days ago, plus I paid $10.50 for shipping to return it.

http://www.jensenmarinedirect.com/je...t-housing.html

Good Luck!
Old 03-01-2012, 04:34 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,294
Received 88 Likes on 66 Posts
Default

What model Sony unit?

My Sony CDX-H910UI receiver uses screws from the front to bite into the panel.
Old 03-01-2012, 04:56 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bunnell Fl.
Posts: 1,573
Received 168 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by wingless View Post
What model Sony unit?

My Sony CDX-H910UI receiver uses screws from the front to bite into the panel.
Do you already have the Sony H/U? Is it the CD model or does the FRONT panel open. If so you more than likely would secure it from the front with access with the front panel down. Should be 6-8 narrow long screws, drill a very small pilot hole first. This is my Clarion that mounts the same was as any open panel Sony have have seen in the past.





Mounting screws with front panel open

Last edited by jon in florida; 03-01-2012 at 05:07 AM.
Old 03-01-2012, 05:11 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,294
Received 88 Likes on 66 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jon in florida View Post
Do you already have the Sony H/U?
Yes.
Originally Posted by jon in florida View Post
Is it the CD model or does the FRONT panel open.
Yes, it is a CD model and the front panel drops open to insert the CD and to access the mounting screws.
Originally Posted by jon in florida View Post
If so you more than likely would secure it from the front with access with the front panel down. Should be 6-8 narrow long screws, drill a very small pilot hole first.
Yes, plus they included a clear decal to stick on the mounting panel to aid in cutting and drilling.
Originally Posted by jon in florida View Post
This is my Clarion that mounts the same was as any open panel Sony have have seen in the past.
That looks very nice.

Here is mine w/ the display open. I also mounted a disc changer that I recovered from the nearby tar pits.

Old 03-01-2012, 05:12 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Highlands, NJ
Posts: 2,011
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

My Clarion and Kenwood mounted the same way. There should be screws behind the face plate.
What model Sony?
Go to the Sony website and see if they have instructions for the model.
Old 03-01-2012, 05:42 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
MB Marine Electronics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Posts: 1,110
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Probably a Sony with a standard face, meaning it likely does not screw in. It most likely has a metal cage that needs to be placed in the opening and then the tabs need to be bent over securing the radio in place. I know it doesnt seem like it would work that well but the manufacturers have been using it for decades and it does work fine.
Old 03-01-2012, 07:28 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 104
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by MB Marine Electronics View Post
Probably a Sony with a standard face, meaning it likely does not screw in. It most likely has a metal cage that needs to be placed in the opening and then the tabs need to be bent over securing the radio in place. I know it doesnt seem like it would work that well but the manufacturers have been using it for decades and it does work fine.
MB - you are correct. The unit is a sony cdx-m10 (3 years old but never used). I tried bending up the tabs like you described but it doesnt secure the unit nearly well enough. I feel that the unit would get trashed very quickly bouncing around within the housing. I might just have to get a new unit or fabricate up some sort of bracket to mount the metal cage to from behind.

Any other thoughts on how to flush mount these types of units?
Old 03-01-2012, 08:22 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,294
Received 88 Likes on 66 Posts
Default

The user manual for the Sony CDX-M10 shows the receiver attached to the front panel by bending the cage tabs, as described by MB Marine Electronics, on page 25.

Assuming the opening is cut to the correct dimensions it should work.
Old 03-02-2012, 05:44 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
MB Marine Electronics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pompano Beach, FL
Posts: 1,110
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by wingless View Post
The user manual for the Sony CDX-M10 shows the receiver attached to the front panel by bending the cage tabs, as described by MB Marine Electronics, on page 25.

Assuming the opening is cut to the correct dimensions it should work.
That is the key, unfortunately a lot of the openings we find look like they were cut using a steak knife and are a little loose to say the least. You will find a small threaded hole on the rear of the unit right smack in the middle. If you can find a place to mount a bracket and attach to the radio there it will add an amazing amount of stability to the unit even if the opening was cut a little too large. If not you may want to look into getting a new unit that screws in from the front. Good luck!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.