Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Can I use Two Tansom Mount Transducers?

Old 02-26-2012, 01:35 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Magnolia, MA.
Posts: 537
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can I use Two Tansom Mount Transducers?

Getting ready to buy a Garmin 720S (from Semperfifishing) I have a Standard Horizon CPF390i Chart/FF that I think I'm going to keep. I'll just have 2 chartplotters/FF's. It uses a P58transducer. The SH set up is new in the box & I'm having a new boat built.

SH Link:

http://www.standardhorizon.com/index...3&isArchived=0

Boat:

http://www.seawayboats.com/index.php...d=6&model_id=6

Can I use a P66 for the Garmin 720S as well?

http://www8.garmin.com/marine/brochu...10-10192-01%22
Old 02-26-2012, 02:09 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South Shore, MA
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

If the transducers run at the same frequency, they will interfere with each other and you will get a lot of noise. I had a Garmin GPS Map and then bought a Raymarine fishfinder and when they were both on, each showed a lot of noise in the water column. If you set one to 50 Hz and the other to 200 Hz, it may be OK.
Old 02-26-2012, 02:32 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Magnolia, MA.
Posts: 537
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TDC_Tom View Post
If the transducers run at the same frequency, they will interfere with each other and you will get a lot of noise. I had a Garmin GPS Map and then bought a Raymarine fishfinder and when they were both on, each showed a lot of noise in the water column. If you set one to 50 Hz and the other to 200 Hz, it may be OK.
Ok...That's no good. Yes...both run @ the same frequency. I didn't want a thru-hull if I could avoid it. In-Hull only gives depth, so...looks like a thru-hull will be the answer for one of them.

Thanks for the inisght!
Old 02-26-2012, 03:08 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location:
Posts: 550
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Same issue with a thru hull and transom mount. Would still need ti run at different frequencies.
Old 02-26-2012, 03:15 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Magnolia, MA.
Posts: 537
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Geez...Ok....Then I guess I just use one as a chartplotter? This sucks! The Standard Horizon CPF390i is a pretty "standard" DF/FF. So....Maybe you'll use the Garmin 720S with a B264 transom mount & call it a day. So if I put one on 50 & the other 200 I would be ok?
Old 02-26-2012, 03:29 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,889
Likes: 0
Received 1,695 Likes on 928 Posts
Default

No need to run both at the same time..use one with the dual freq. and then you can show a split screen.

Or if you choose just run both at different freq.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.