Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

SS264 question

Old 02-23-2012, 04:15 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 84
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default SS264 question

Sorry if this has been brought up before, Need help deciding on wether to
get SS264N or SS264W on the 200khz side for my Furuno FCV585


mostly do bottom fishing (cobia, mutton snappers, groupers, jacks) around wrecks and other artificial habitat and other spots we find in Miami area.

Want to upgrade trasnduser to 1kw but i am stuck on Narrow or Wide...

some folks say Wide.. others say narrow...

I have seen posts from some showing switching between N and W but the images
I saw had allot of noise or clutter on the Narrow transponder. And when Wide image was taken it was clearer.. not sure why ...


all info appreciated!
Old 02-23-2012, 05:05 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

First...
How deep are you fishing, what type of boat ?
What transducer are you now using?
Old 02-23-2012, 11:57 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,221
Likes: 0
Received 300 Likes on 171 Posts
Default

I have a wide (SS264W) 200Hz and would not recommend it for bottom fishing. I don't think it provides as much detail. I had an M260 previously which I am pretty sure is the same element as the SS264N and that gave a better picture despite being a shoot through. The SS264W is better for seeing bait schools in the mid water when trolling because it sees more area but you can get that with the 50Hz side anyway.
Old 02-24-2012, 12:21 AM
  #4  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 84
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
First...
How deep are you fishing, what type of boat ?
What transducer are you now using?

anywhere from 60ft to 350ft or so
23ft 20 deg deadrise
P66

I saw the light when I meet up fishing with my friend, he was seeing
things I was not able to see... he doesnt remember what transducer
he has, but looks like a B260 variant on the bottom of his 25'

Last edited by joe_dejesus; 02-24-2012 at 01:48 PM.
Old 02-24-2012, 01:48 PM
  #5  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 84
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

]
Old 02-24-2012, 02:15 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

M260 or the Tm 260 is a good option when going medium to deep.

Tm260's in THT classifieds
http://www.thehulltruth.com/fishing-...ansducers.html

M260's
http://www.thehulltruth.com/parts-fo...550-625-a.html
Old 02-25-2012, 04:04 AM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 84
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Your suggestion is to go with a in-hull Airmar M260 vs the thru-hullss264n? I would think the thruhull would outperform in-hull..
Old 02-25-2012, 05:34 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,221
Likes: 0
Received 300 Likes on 171 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by joe_dejesus View Post
Your suggestion is to go with a in-hull Airmar M260 vs the thru-hullss264n? I would think the thruhull would outperform in-hull..
An M260 would be less than half the cost of the paired SS264 50/200Hz if that is a consideration. All else being equal in a good mounting location, the SS264N should give better performance as you say. Enough to justify double the price and the greater installation expense? Hard to say unless you have a cored hull and thus not much choice.
Old 02-25-2012, 05:41 AM
  #9  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 84
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

makes sense....
Old 02-25-2012, 06:18 AM
  #10  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 84
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

M260 has temp optional temp sensor correct? how/where is that sensor mounted?
Old 02-25-2012, 06:36 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,221
Likes: 0
Received 300 Likes on 171 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by joe_dejesus View Post
M260 has temp optional temp sensor correct? how/where is that sensor mounted?
No you would need to get a seperate temperature sensor. In my boat with the M260, I had an Airmar "high precision" Smart Sensor. It requires only about a 3/4" hole which can be almost anywhere that stays underwater (transom, etc). It outputs NMEA 0183 (also can get NMEA2000 version) temp data that you feed into your sounder or plotter directly through the appropriate data port.
Old 02-25-2012, 08:45 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by joe_dejesus View Post
M260 has temp optional temp sensor correct? how/where is that sensor mounted?
There are several choices.
What I normally work with are:



The T42 analog brass thru the hull..two styles.
Direct wired Under $150.and with a "y" cable under $200.



Then you have the T80 style. They mount on the transom..very simple.
Y' and direct wire..both under $50.

Either the thru hull or transom mount are what I usually put my people into when they get the M260 or the P79.
Or when any of their existing transducers may loose temp.



And lastly...




Put one of these into the water.. Mountain changes color..time to fish.
Catch fish..celebrate.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 02-25-2012 at 09:45 AM.
Old 02-26-2012, 01:08 PM
  #13  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 84
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Humm decisions,decisions.. I have a friend wanting to buy my Furuno FCV585 amd P66.

I have been wanting to get a new chartplotter, since I was in the market to buy a new tranducer, I might as well buy it for the new chirp unit.. I was thinking of getting Raymarine e7D with a 1kw
broadband tranducer. ( I hope the e7D will work on low power for now until I get the DSM300)
Old 02-26-2012, 01:25 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 23,904
Likes: 0
Received 1,696 Likes on 929 Posts
Default

If you get a straight e7 you will be $155. less..you could apply that savings toward a DSM300.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.