Notices

Furuno 620 no water temp display

Old 02-22-2012, 05:39 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Carolina Beach NC
Posts: 624
Default Furuno 620 no water temp display

Just installed a new Furuno 620 to replace my Furuno 582L . Checked before purchase and was told that my thru hull Airmar 1000 watt transducer would work fine with the new unit because they both used the same plug with the same number of pins. Machine works great but I am not getting a sea water temp display on the screen. Do I need to get into the set up and activate something? Was reading the owners manual and they are referring to a optional thru hull sea temp sensor. Please don't tell me I need to buy a sensor and install it for the sea temp to work. The 582L sea temp displayed top left on the screen so I know the transducer is ok.
SEA HORSE is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 05:45 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,272
Default

You need to go to your menue and go down to DATA
Look across and you will see data box 1 and data box 2.

Select ...."Data box 1"
When the Data Box number 1 opens..scroll down and select "Temp"
You now will show your sea temp in the upper left corner.





Also..

Go to SYSTEM..
Select CALIB....make sure your water type is what you are using..SALT or FRESH

Last edited by semperfifishing; 02-22-2012 at 06:24 PM.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 06:01 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Carolina Beach NC
Posts: 624
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
You need to go to your menue and go down to DATA
look across and you will see data box 1 and data box 2.

Select ...."Data box 1"
When the Data Box number 1 opens..scroll down and select "Temp"
You now will show your sea temp in the upper left corner.

Also..

Go to SYSTEM..
Select CALIB....make sure your water type is SALT.
Thanks I knew somebody would chime in here. Be nice if they told you that in the owners book.
SEA HORSE is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 06:11 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,272
Default

Originally Posted by SEA HORSE View Post
Be nice if they told you that in the owners book.
It's there..pg 19.

Data Menue.

Lots of items to read..very easy to miss.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 02-22-2012 at 07:43 PM.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 10:03 AM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: central MA
Posts: 97
Default

Does the FCV 620 work with a 1000 watt transducer?? If so I bought the wrong one. Thought it only went to 600 watts
slow530 is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 01:12 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,272
Default

Yes, you can "use it " with a1Kw but you can only fire 600 watts.
Using a multi element 1kw transducer with a 600 watt sonar is actually a positive.

It will increase the soanrs capability in both depth and sensitivity.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 03:39 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Carolina Beach NC
Posts: 624
Default

Thanks Semperfi, went down to the boat today and you were spot on . Sea Temp display works like a charm , Waiting for the wind to drop out to go for a ride and play with it to see how to tune it for best results. Do you suggest leaving it in the fishing mode or manual tuning? My 582 L worked best when manually tuned
SEA HORSE is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 03:59 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,272
Default

The FCV620 is way ahead of the 582L so leave it in full auto till you see how it works.

Feel free to call me on my 800 line and I can go thru the set up menue with you...very easy.

But make sure you input the "Depth" in the Fish Info section of your menue..very important. to help you locate where the fis in in relation to your boat.

You will love this unit.
semperfifishing is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread