Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

dashboard with limited rom not limited funds

Notices

dashboard with limited rom not limited funds

Old 02-22-2012, 04:59 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 28
Default dashboard with limited rom not limited funds

have 13.5 inches of dash on bayliner 266 .its hardtop cruiser .have factory installed garmin 541s pkg with plotter and sounder .have approx same size place next to it for radar .the only unit i found to fit so far was the furuno 1715.antthing color by any vendor that will fit ? and is the furuno monochrome 1715 unit adequate on 26 ft boat goin to bahamas on reg basis 30 nm?or go with 10 in screen and hang it from middle of hard top ?
forbones is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 09:08 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,617
Default

The Furuno Navnet 7"ers will fit, but they're not made anymore. The 1715 is a solid system and will do what you need it to do, but if you're like me, I would much rather have something color. I do have a color 7" Navnet VX1, which should be close to, if not the same size as the 1715. Comes with a 4kw open array antenna, and you can NMEA in GPS from the Garmin, add a chart chip, buy a heading sensor, and do chart overlay if you want to get fancy with it. We're just down 95 in Boca, give me a call if you are interested or have any questions
mstyle8517 is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 06:49 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Odenton, MD
Posts: 1,190
Default

I'd pull the garmin and add the biggest MFD you can fit, from the brand of your choice (for me it would be simrad NSE (or NSS if you want touch screen) and then black-box the crap out of it).
JoshKaptur is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 03:17 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Posts: 180
Default

Originally Posted by JoshKaptur View Post
I'd pull the garmin and add the biggest MFD you can fit, from the brand of your choice (for me it would be simrad NSE (or NSS if you want touch screen) and then black-box the crap out of it).

X 2.

kapdan
kapdan is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 07:43 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 28
Default

you wouldnt use the two units side by side ?seperating hype of color vs reality of a great monochrome unit that sees just what a color radar shows .would you mount a 10.5 furuno stand alone color unit from the hard top ceter beam at the whinshield
forbones is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 09:39 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Odenton, MD
Posts: 1,190
Default

"hype of color" is not what I'd expect from an unlimited funds post.

Personally, I'd still add the biggest MFD you can fit, then ad radar, sonar, chirp, autopilot, etc. Simrad can control all of those from the MFD so your dash space issue is gone. I think Raymarine can too (not sure on autopilot). If you want furuno and chirp is not important to you (it should be if $$ is no object), then add that to your list too.

I do like having 2 screens, and would likely consider a bracket mount on top of the console or below/in the E-box... but I would not choose two smaller screens over one large screen in the same space, if $$ was no object.

You can split your large screen (chart/sonar, for example) so it mimics two smaller screens... but you can't combine 2 smaller screens into one big screen when you really want to see what's going on (planning a route on a chart, seeing as much info on your sonar/radar as possible, etc).
JoshKaptur is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 08:53 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 28
Default

prob will do furuno 1835 and hang it from the center beam on hard top.can i integrate the garmin 541 s with the 1835 with chart overlay?if not i guess ok .would fill dash with autopilot. how much would one cost for 26 ft .
forbones is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 08:56 PM
  #8  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 28
Default

interested in furuno unit you emailed me about with 4kw array call me with info and price 5612626523 paul.
forbones is offline  
Old 02-29-2012, 09:04 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 28
Default

Originally Posted by mstyle8517 View Post
The Furuno Navnet 7"ers will fit, but they're not made anymore. The 1715 is a solid system and will do what you need it to do, but if you're like me, I would much rather have something color. I do have a color 7" Navnet VX1, which should be close to, if not the same size as the 1715. Comes with a 4kw open array antenna, and you can NMEA in GPS from the Garmin, add a chart chip, buy a heading sensor, and do chart overlay if you want to get fancy with it. We're just down 95 in Boca, give me a call if you are interested or have any questions
please email at [email protected] paul interested in furuno unit with 4 kw open array you told me about in last email possible interested in furuno 1835 also give me price and tell me where i can see this stuff on saturday
forbones is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread