Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Calibrating a Heading Sensor

Old 02-22-2012, 04:41 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,943
Received 39 Likes on 21 Posts
Default Calibrating a Heading Sensor

Hello,
I installed the new Garmin (Airmar) Heading sensor to my network, Garmin 4210, GMR24HD. I unplugged the cable to it and reattached and then started doing circles. The manual said that after one and half turns it would blink On then Off for 60 seconds if the calibration failed. It never did this, but after doing about 4 circles I started doing some tests for accuracy. It always seemed to off by about 20-40 degrees. Sometime worse. Well when I put the boat back on the trailer and got home, my driveway points northwest (329 degrees) but my heading on my GPS was showing 145 degrees, which is way off. Did I do the calibration wrong?

Thanks
Timothy
Old 02-22-2012, 04:53 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 7,509
Received 1,557 Likes on 829 Posts
Default

you have to start the circle within 2 minutes of removing/restoring power to the heading sensor. You have to do 1 1/2 circles within 3-4 1/2 minutes for the autocalibration to start. you can tell when this starts because it will stop reporting a heading on your network device. continue doing the circles until the heading display is restored.
Old 02-22-2012, 04:56 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mebane, NC
Posts: 1,635
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Could you be getting interference from something on or around the boat that is throwing off your sensor?
Old 02-22-2012, 04:59 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 7,509
Received 1,557 Likes on 829 Posts
Default

Sometimes it can be a PIA if you change the turn radius and/or the speed while doing the circles.
Old 02-22-2012, 05:06 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,943
Received 39 Likes on 21 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by airbrush View Post
you have to start the circle within 2 minutes of removing/restoring power to the heading sensor. You have to do 1 1/2 circles within 3-4 1/2 minutes for the autocalibration to start. you can tell when this starts because it will stop reporting a heading on your network device. continue doing the circles until the heading display is restored.
I reconnected the device. I just unplugged the NMEA cable going to the sensor and then plugged it back in. The Heading never went away so I guess it never went into autocalibration mode. I will try again.

Thanks
Old 02-22-2012, 05:23 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 7,509
Received 1,557 Likes on 829 Posts
Default

It's the power that needs to be cycled off/on. (I'm not sure if it's in the same cable or not.)
Old 02-22-2012, 05:27 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,943
Received 39 Likes on 21 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by airbrush View Post
It's the power that needs to be cycled off/on. (I'm not sure if it's in the same cable or not.)
ohh, so I need to turn my batteries off then back on. Yeah I didnt do that. I just unplugged the cable to the heading sensor.
Old 02-22-2012, 05:36 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 7,509
Received 1,557 Likes on 829 Posts
Default

You need to find the red (Power) cable to the sensor - disconnect and reconnect it - while the device is sending heading info to your display, so turning batts off and on will NOT work. You want to remove power to ONLY the heading sensor.
Old 02-22-2012, 06:31 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,943
Received 39 Likes on 21 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by airbrush View Post
You need to find the red (Power) cable to the sensor - disconnect and reconnect it - while the device is sending heading info to your display, so turning batts off and on will NOT work. You want to remove power to ONLY the heading sensor.
Well, its just one NMEA 2K cable. I just disconnected that from the sensor. Will that not do it?
Old 02-22-2012, 10:57 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,943
Received 39 Likes on 21 Posts
Default

Can someone confirm if that is all I need to do. Is to unplug the NMEA 2K cable going to the sensor, or do I just need to cut power another way?

Thanks
Old 02-22-2012, 01:52 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,218
Likes: 0
Received 295 Likes on 167 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by timothyj View Post
Can someone confirm if that is all I need to do. Is to unplug the NMEA 2K cable going to the sensor, or do I just need to cut power another way?

Thanks
If there is only a single NMEA2000 cable and no other cable to the sensor, it is carrying the power supply as well as the data. That is normal for NMEA2000 devices and thus unplugging it should cut power to the sensor.
Old 02-22-2012, 02:39 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 494
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I would not try doing any calibrating while your boat is sitting on your trailer and would suspect that is the reasoning it is so far off sitting in your driveway.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.