Notices

Lowrance Weather display question?

Old 02-21-2012, 07:49 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 402
Default Lowrance Weather display question?

I am considering adding a Lowrance HDS to my boat, just for the weather display.
I have an opportunity to buy a used one with basemap, not Insight.
I do not need chart display as I have two other gps units for that info and I don't want to change them. They will not get the weather that the HDS units will.

Will basemap give me adequate display for the weather display? I know I will see landmass on the display, and perhaps that would be adequate for me to judge any storm info, wave info, temp info.

Thanks.
fshmn is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 01:02 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mebane, NC
Posts: 1,631
Default

Using this for inland or coastal?

Basemaps should suffice if all you are using it for is the weather and you just want to see s
storm cells, etc - Basemaps have the general bodies of water with limited (if any?) depth curves plotted.

Are you getting the Sirius module (the antenna and the receiver module) as a part of the deal?
mwardncsu is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 05:46 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 402
Default

Boating in the GOM west of Tampa. 15-40 miles out. Rare occasion East Coast of Florida.
The Weather antenna is not included.
I have two Humminbird units. One I keep on GPS display the other on Side Imaging and bottom display.
This HDS would be added just for weather info. I won't hook up the transducer.

In the future when boat funds build up (not likely if gas goes to $5) I would consider adding broadband radar just for collision avoidance (fog/evening).

The weather is my main desire. But if I add the radar, I will already have a display unit installed.

I guess that leads me to ask if Basemaps will be adequate for radar display? From the info pics I have looked at, I'm not sure I would really need radar overlay on a chart display.

If I get the basemap version, and I overlay the waveheight display, will that be useful/meaningfull without a chart?

Thanks for help
fshmn is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 05:49 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mebane, NC
Posts: 1,631
Default

I can't help with the wave-height info as I use the Sirus weather strictly for inland lake use - hopefully others will chime in.

I would think the basemaps would work OK for you for radar overlay if you end up going that route as you are worried about land masses (and comparing what you think you are seeing vs. what is there). What the basemaps may not sure are all the channel markers and such - although even the Navionics Platinum Lake maps do not show all the channel markers on my lake.
mwardncsu is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 09:51 AM
  #5  
Edd
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,874
Default

Well view it this way. Buy the HDS and set it up. If you feel you need more detail on the chart you can always buy the Insight or other card.

Edd
Edd is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 05:21 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Upper NC
Posts: 2,117
Default

Originally Posted by Edd View Post
Well view it this way. Buy the HDS and set it up. If you feel you need more detail on the chart you can always buy the Insight or other card.

Edd
X2. Always have the option of adding a map card.
http://www.thehulltruth.com/members/...00-am-est.html
polarred21 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread