Notices

740s to 740

Old 02-20-2012, 04:46 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: treasure coast
Posts: 122
Default 740s to 740

Hello. Wanting to hook up 740s in front to 740 in back station? Using one transducer,can I slave to back with nema? Not sure how to do,any thoughts...thanks. Red dog
islandpressure is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 09:26 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 9,007
Default

It will share depth (in feet) over nmea 2k - but no bottom image etc.
Flot is offline  
Old 02-21-2012, 12:00 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Annapolis
Posts: 1,928
Default

Garmin didn't want the 700 series to deflate sales of the higher end MFD's that DO network.
sandyda is offline  
Old 02-21-2012, 01:10 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 9,007
Default

Agreed - however I found it pretty remarkable just how much data gets transferred over the NM2k interface. Then again, for the price of a nm2k network, you could simply install a second transducer!
Flot is offline  
Old 02-21-2012, 06:06 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: treasure coast
Posts: 122
Default

Thanks all, I was trying to avoid second transducer, but looks like that's the way to go
islandpressure is offline  
Old 02-21-2012, 06:53 PM
  #6  
Senior Member // Used to be bshoe
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 289
Default

You will need 2 740s
MarlinMyDarlin is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 05:29 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: treasure coast
Posts: 122
Default

One more question, can u pull up tds, on 740,or740s. I know reads in gps but show tds with proper offsets? Thanks again...........red dog
islandpressure is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 05:54 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,804
Default

Yes ..... there are a host of formats that the 740 can use
bluewaterpirate is online now  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread