Notices

Help with installing KVH Autocomp 1000

Old 02-20-2012, 08:35 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 18
Default Help with installing KVH Autocomp 1000

Hi All,

I tried to install the KVH heading sensor yesterday to a Lowrance LCX-38C HD. The physical install went well but I have never had a NEMA 0183 install go smoothly. I am looking for suggestions on where to proceed.

I am judging whether it is connected and talking correctly by looking at the menu to see if “Enable Radar Overlay” is grayed out. I can’t check the box when it is unavailable.

Since this is for radar overlay those familiar with Lowrance know that you need a RIM300 serial device that uses comm1 for radar and comm2 is standard comm. Port.
Below is the info I have for the connecting the devices.

KVH
Color _____Function __________Description

Red ______+12V ______________power input, 12VDC nominal
Black _____PGround ____________power ground input from ship’s ground
Green _____NEMA 0183 Out (+) __sensor’s NEMA 0183 output
Orange ____NEMA 0183 Out (-) __reference ground for NEMA 0183 output
White _____Damping0 ___________input for damping control
Brown ____Damping1 ___________input for damping control
Blue ______AutoComp __________ground to disable autocompensation
Drain _____not used ____________clipped back

RIM300:
The blue and green wires (Com port 2) can be used to exchange GPS
position data with any NMEA 0183-compatible device. Connect the blue
(TX) transmit wire to the receive (RX) wire from the NMEA 0183 device.
Now connect the green (RX) receive wire to the transmit (TX) wire
from the NMEA 0183 device. There is no ground wire, so the
NMEA 0183 device MUST be grounded to the same source as the
display unit.

So what did I actually do?

KVH __________Connected to
Red ___________+12 Same power as all Lowrance products
Black __________GND Same power as all Lowrance products
Green __________Green from RIM300
Orange _________Shield from RIM300
White __________GND same as above
Brown _________GND same as above
Blue ___________floating

I don’t know what baud rates or if sentence prefixes matter. I tried 2400-19K for baud rates and haven’t tried changing any of the prefixes all of them are checked currently.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by Shaker-King; 02-20-2012 at 09:49 AM. Reason: change formatting
Shaker-King is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 08:59 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Fl.
Posts: 7,144
Default

You only have outbound data on the KVH, so you only use the receive wires on the display. Green NEMA out + went to orange NEMA in + on the display. Orange NEMA - went to green NEMA - on the display.

The colors were reversed on my HDS to KVH connection.
debugger is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 06:38 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks Debugger, I would have thought the KVH orange would have gone to the shield rather than the green wire but I can't argue with success.
Shaker-King is offline  
Old 02-21-2012, 05:18 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Fl.
Posts: 7,144
Default

Originally Posted by Shaker-King View Post
Thanks Debugger, I would have thought the KVH orange would have gone to the shield rather than the green wire but I can't argue with success.
Yep, mine works perfectly. KVH to an HDS10.

Check your NMEA 0183 wiring table for your unit, but Lowrance hasn't changed the cables as far as I know. You want the RS-422 interface. On the display should be Green RX (-) and Orange RX (+).

On the KVH... Green TX (+) and Orange TX (-). So green goes to orange, and orange goes to green. Lowrance and KVH have thier color codes reversed. Shield is not used. Power and ground on the KVH and your done.

I think I went middle of the road on the damping rate.
debugger is offline  
Old 02-22-2012, 05:34 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 18
Default

Has anyone connected to the RIM300?

What Comm port setup do you have (baud, prefix)?
Shaker-King is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 05:47 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location:
Posts: 18
Default

Any other ideas for me before I attack it this weekend?
Shaker-King is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 10:27 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Palm Beach, Fl.
Posts: 7,144
Default

Originally Posted by Shaker-King View Post
Any other ideas for me before I attack it this weekend?
ideas on what?
debugger is offline  
Old 01-12-2016, 12:12 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 164
Default

Just installed the KVH 1000 Autocomp on my Simrad NSS 8 and found that the following worked for me:

RS232 Port
4800 Baud
Orange KVH > Orange Simrad
Green KVH > Green Simrad

Frustratingly there doesn't appear to be a screen to see NMEA sources nor is there any light on the KVH.
The way i accidentally discovered to test if it was working was to open a compass view on the NSS and physically moved the rate compass.
Chass is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread