Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

GPS Interference with VHS Radio?? FIX!!!!!

Notices

GPS Interference with VHS Radio?? FIX!!!!!

Old 02-17-2012, 03:31 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,067
Talking GPS Interference with VHS Radio?? FIX!!!!!

I just have a problem between my Garmin 4208 Gps and my Icom VHS radio with a interference . I just check all my conections and terminals just changed and all ground terminals too. The problem is only when the sounder is on , I change the power conections from my sounder and still the same . I make some test taking the antena and the interference go off , another test is if I take the network conection from the sounder and the GSD it go off to . Can be the network cable? any Ideas?

Last edited by splinter25; 02-24-2012 at 07:42 PM.
splinter25 is offline  
Old 02-17-2012, 04:11 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bunnell Fl.
Posts: 1,363
Default

Is youur Garmin GPS NMEA turned on? Most GPS come defaulted with the NMEA turned off. On my Humminbired 1155C I had to go into the advanced menu to put NMEA output to ON from factory set-default OFF. If it is not turned "on" no output is being sent to the VHF. Just a thought.

*now that I re-read your post I don't think my info helps? Is this a new install/interface?
jon in florida is offline  
Old 02-17-2012, 05:45 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Snuggedy Swamp & North Eleuthera
Posts: 3,884
Default

I would suggest that you have too much equipment drawing from one circuit. The Garmin sounders/ GPS will shut down if the voltage drops too low. What guage wire is feeding your terminal block for the electronics? If equipment is dropping off with you key the mic then its a voltage problem or a resistance problem due to a corroded connection.

I'd suggest splitting you nav electronics from your VHF electronics.
Ironworker is offline  
Old 02-18-2012, 11:16 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,067
Default

I have on this block . the VHF radio , GPS Sounder and Music Radio .. Do you think is too much? The Gps never go down,.. the problem is a interference on the VHF.. and only at the ch.68 on the VHF only. Its kind of wierd that is in olny a one channel that have that problem
splinter25 is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 04:17 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by splinter25 View Post
I have on this block . the VHF radio , GPS Sounder and Music Radio .. Do you think is too much? The Gps never go down,.. the problem is a interference on the VHF.. and only at the ch.68 on the VHF only. Its kind of wierd that is in olny a one channel that have that problem
I have the very same problem and it's not at all wierd that it's on one channel. The GPS is transmitting a signal at the same frequency as VHF channel 68. It's not supposed to, but it does.

It has nothing to do with how much equipment is powered by a single circuit and it has nothing to do with anything being turned off. If you have a handheld VHF or can borrow one, you will find that this VHF picks up the same interference as your fixed VHF. Hold it closer to the 4208 and the inteference gets louder. Walk away and it eventually stops. On mine, this will be several feet away.

The folks at Garmin didn't seem to be too concerned about this, but in all honesty, I haven't pushed them on it.

What has not helped is - additional grounding the units and the VHF, different network cables, different routing of the netwerk cables, filters on the DC power leads and ferrite coil filters on the network cables.

Something that will solve the problem but I have not done is to move the VHF antenna as far as possible (on the boat) from the 4208 itself. You can test this with a handheld VHF.

If I ever figure out a real solution to this problem, I'll post it. In the meantiume, I just took channel 68 out of the scannng sequence and I turn the plotter off when I need to use channel 68.

Good luck.
rwidman is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 12:31 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,067
Default

This is the answer from Garmin

Thank you for contacting Garmin International and glad to assist you with this.


Have you tried applying shielding to the power cables of the GPS and sounder? As to why it is just happening on one channel on your ICOM VHF, I really don't know what to think of that. You might want to contact ICOM and see if they can assist you further on that one. ICOM is not a product of Garmin International.


I think the dont have a clue!!
I have the cable from the sounder and the gps all making like it a circle and I think im making some kind a coil that this is making the interference. I will make a test to wrap with foil or move out of the electronic box to see if this causing this interference.
splinter25 is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 01:49 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by splinter25 View Post
This is the answer from Garmin

Thank you for contacting Garmin International and glad to assist you with this.


Have you tried applying shielding to the power cables of the GPS and sounder? As to why it is just happening on one channel on your ICOM VHF, I really don't know what to think of that. You might want to contact ICOM and see if they can assist you further on that one. ICOM is not a product of Garmin International.


I think the dont have a clue!!
I have the cable from the sounder and the gps all making like it a circle and I think im making some kind a coil that this is making the interference. I will make a test to wrap with foil or move out of the electronic box to see if this causing this interference.
Sometimes these people don't understand what you're saying because you're not saying it very well and sometimes they really shouldn't be answering trouble calls because they don't understand these things.

The interference on one channel is because the plotter is generating a signal on that channel. It's acting like a VHF radio stuck on transmit.

An Icom radio will pick up the same signals as a Standard Standard Horizon radio, Cobra radio, or even a Radio Shack scanner.

I've used a cheap transistor radio as a signal detector and I don't think the interference is from the cables, I think it's from the plotter itself. There is a circuit in the plotter (probably a computer clock circuit) that's on the same frequency as VHF channel 68. Or the frequency of the interference could be a harmonic of the clock frequency.
rwidman is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 03:37 PM
  #8  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,792
Default

THEY KNOW WHAT YOUR SAYING.....

Ask them about the notorious noise from the GLD30A weather boxes.......(insert crickets chirping)...

The best you can do is to move the VHF as far away as you can from the plotter and cross your fingers...
CME is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 04:57 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 22,073
Default

Originally Posted by CME View Post
THEY KNOW WHAT YOUR SAYING.....

Ask them about the notorious noise from the GLD30A weather boxes.......(insert crickets chirping)...

The best you can do is to move the VHF as far away as you can from the plotter and cross your fingers...
You mean to move the VHF antenna as far as you can from the plotter, right?
rwidman is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 05:59 PM
  #10  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,792
Default

Originally Posted by rwidman View Post
You mean to move the VHF antenna as far as you can from the plotter, right?
both as far away as possible....some idiots have the antenna beside the captain window and the vhf is beside that!
CME is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 06:18 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,067
Default

Ok just to share this with u guys,... I just fix the problem that I have with the interference between the gps and the vhs on the ch.68. I Have a NMEA Network and the antenna cable and the (yellow power to NMEA) was attach like a circle these wires create a coil which creates an interference. I just separates the power, data and the GPS antenna away and problem solve!! Thanks to all to help me with this!

Dan
splinter25 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread