Notices

Transducer problem...

Old 02-16-2012, 12:52 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
triumphrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Masaryktown, Fla.
Posts: 17,047
Default Transducer problem...

I have a pair of Lowrance LMS 5" units. lms 520 and lms 522. Identical, except one has a built in gps antennae.

Over a year and a half ago, I replaced a damaged transducer on my boat. Bought it from Jim, BOE marine. He asked a few questions and shipped me a lowrance hst wsbl.

It would not work out of the box...so i tried a little snooping and found that you should not run a pair of transducers at the same frequency.

Well, my boat was rigged for two, so I guessed at one point in time, one of the bottomfinders was a 50hz unit, or 50hz compatible.

I never researched to see if my Lowrance units could be re-programmed. They are 200 khz units, and require that hst-wsbl.

Recently i broke the good transducer, so tried the one from BOE again. Plugged it into both units. It's just showing water temp, and the depth stays at 0.0

Lowrance was of little to no help.

Unfortunately, neither was Jim.

Is there anything that needs to be programmed for this unit?

Yeah, I know a new one is $67, and I will happily buy one (not from BOE).

If I am missing something, I would like to know it before I order one.

I have checked the pins, looked at the cable from one end to the other and nothing seems out of place.
triumphrick is offline  
Old 02-16-2012, 01:11 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,659
Default

No, no programing.
A simple plug and play for the transducer.

Beside the HST-WSBL your unit can also use the Airmar P66 if see a used one for sale etc.
Great transducers..and even the used ones last forever..
It will be model number P66-BL
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 02-16-2012, 01:15 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
triumphrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Masaryktown, Fla.
Posts: 17,047
Default

Originally Posted by semperfifishing View Post
No, no programing.
A simple plug and play for the transducer.

Beside the HST-WSBL your unit can also use the Airmar P66 if see a used one for sale etc.
Great transducers..and even the used ones last forever..
It will be model number P66-BL

Thanks for the prompt reply...yeah, that was what I was suspecting. I had downloaded the manual, finally, and did not see anything that I could have done.
I have been made aware of the airmars...and surely hope to have one on the next boat. this one will be up for sale this spring, so all I am trying now is to get everything in good working order...
triumphrick is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread