Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin Network 3210

Old 02-15-2012, 01:33 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lexington and Oak Island, NC
Posts: 121
Default Garmin Network 3210

I have a Garmin 3210 with the GDS22 sounder, GMS10 Network Port Expander and there is another box that I am not sure of the numbers on. I think it has to do with the weather service that I am not using.

I want to add fuel management to the boat. My understanding is that the 3210 is not compatible with the GFS10 fuel sensor. What Garmin units would work with my current network and also be compatable with the GFS10? I was think about adding a small second display.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Jamie
Sledgecpa is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 02:05 PM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Deltaville, VA
Posts: 61
Default

4000/5000/6000/7000 series..
sajen is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 02:29 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,820
Default

sounds like we have the exact same setup.. lol.

i was wondering the same thing, but couldnt find any in-dash smaller units that had the network connectivity (RJ45) port.. i spent a good amount of time on the garmin site looking at the specs on their head units.

seems like only the larger units have network compatibility.

i wanted to post on here what the SMALLEST garmin head unit was that was compatible with the garmin network.

subscribing..
floffshore is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 02:30 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lexington and Oak Island, NC
Posts: 121
Default

I don't have room to add the 8" screen. I could replace the 3210 with a 4210. Does anyone know if the 4210 will fit in the same hole?
Sledgecpa is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 03:00 PM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Deltaville, VA
Posts: 61
Default

Originally Posted by Sledgecpa View Post
I don't have room to add the 8" screen. I could replace the 3210 with a 4210. Does anyone know if the 4210 will fit in the same hole?
4210 : Unit dimensions, WxHxD: 13.4" x 8.9" x 4.2" (34 x 22.6 x 10.7 cm)

3210 : Unit dimensions, WxHxD: 13.1" x 8.8" x 3.25" (33.3 x 22.4 x 8.3 cm)
sajen is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 07:04 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lexington and Oak Island, NC
Posts: 121
Default

The 4210 looks close my main concern is the Height. Is replacing it with the 4210 my only option?
Sledgecpa is offline  
Old 02-16-2012, 12:14 PM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Deltaville, VA
Posts: 61
Default

Originally Posted by Sledgecpa View Post
The 4210 looks close my main concern is the Height. Is replacing it with the 4210 my only option?
GPSMap 5212, which is touchscreen opposed to buttons and you gain 2" of display.

Unit dimensions, WxHxD: 13.0" x 9.5" x 4.7" (33.0 x 24.1 x 11.9 cm)
sajen is offline  
Old 02-16-2012, 12:23 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lexington and Oak Island, NC
Posts: 121
Default

I think the 9.5" would be an issue the 3210 is tight. I should have mentioned I would like to spend as little as I have to.
Sledgecpa is offline  
Old 02-16-2012, 02:10 PM
  #9  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Deltaville, VA
Posts: 61
Default

Originally Posted by Sledgecpa View Post
I think the 9.5" would be an issue the 3210 is tight. I should have mentioned I would like to spend as little as I have to.
this dash builder thing is pretty useful.. i use it to setup dream setup while bored.

http://sites.garmin.com/systembuilde.../chartplotters
sajen is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread