Notices

Maretron TLM100 & NMEA2000

Old 02-11-2012, 09:07 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 6
Default Maretron TLM100 & NMEA2000

I've got an existing NMEA200 network - I've got a LMF-400 and recently purchased a Maretron ultrasonic water level transmitter TLM100. When I connected it to the bus it says unknown device, so I cannot access it or calibrate it. I e-mailed Maretron and they say I will need to purchase a DSM250 Maretron display to be able to calibrate the TLM100, they retail at around $800 so not really a viable option. Seems strange that theses devices are suppose to be NMEA 2000 compatible but in actual fact are not.
Mustang cruiser is offline  
Old 02-12-2012, 08:27 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,151
Default

There is a learning curve involved when attempting to mix NMEA2000 components from different manufacturers. I encountered the same thing that you did when I attempted to incorporate a Lowrance product (an EP-65R fluid level electronic sensor) into my Raymarine network, only to find that the Lowrance sensor was a programmable device which required a Lowrance display to do the job. My solution was to find a technician who owned a Lowrance display to program my sensor for me. Perhaps you could do the same, or as a second option, return the Maretron unit and use the Lowrance sensor coupled with a traditional, swing-arm sender.
Pez Vela is offline  
Old 02-12-2012, 10:26 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 13,052
Default

Originally Posted by Mustang cruiser View Post
I've got an existing NMEA200 network - I've got a LMF-400 and recently purchased a Maretron ultrasonic water level transmitter TLM100. When I connected it to the bus it says unknown device, so I cannot access it or calibrate it. I e-mailed Maretron and they say I will need to purchase a DSM250 Maretron display to be able to calibrate the TLM100, they retail at around $800 so not really a viable option. Seems strange that theses devices are suppose to be NMEA 2000 compatible but in actual fact are not.
Well, if it can be made to work with an NMEA 2000 network then it is compatible. If it cannot be made to work then it is not NMEA 2000 compatible.

Just because a calibration procedure is needed does not mean that it is not NMEA 2000 compatible. It is.

Perhaps you were thinking of the term "plug and play".
jethro1 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread