Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin GPSMAP 740 question

Old 02-10-2012, 01:05 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,348
Default Garmin GPSMAP 740 question

On the Garmin GPSMAP 740 with it's internal antenna...can it be mounted in the console electronics box undera a t-top and still work?
jhendric is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 01:13 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 8,004
Default

Yes .......

Here's my Skyview Display .... mine is mounted inside my helm console.










bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 01:23 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Clayton/NC Coast
Posts: 2,942
Default

Mine even worked in the house through walls and roof in my upstairs theater room. Unless your electronics box is metal, you are good to go!
budbrande is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 01:38 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,348
Default

Dang, question answered! thanks guys!
jhendric is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 03:02 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: FL Panhandle
Posts: 220
Default

JH, I have been looking at the 740s. Where is the best price you've found?
Dusky_23 is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 04:24 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Satellite Beach, FL
Posts: 168
Default

For what it is worth I trolled eBay for a couple of months and ended up buying one for $810 that was only a few months old.

Originally Posted by Dusky_23 View Post
JH, I have been looking at the 740s. Where is the best price you've found?
Phlorida is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 04:28 PM
  #7  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt Pleasant, SC
Posts: 16,269
Default

BWP..think they'll ever network the 740s?
Joe is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 07:02 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: On the Flats
Posts: 7,310
Default

Probably will never network them as they do not want to wreck the 5208 etc.....sales.
Flatout71 is online now  
Old 02-12-2012, 07:30 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,348
Default

As far as price...I havn't looked any farther than BOE...he's a member and usually in line if not cheapest...bought my garmin network fom him last time and have been very happy....
jhendric is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread